Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VoIP outbound - 10 seconds of silence

Colin1
Grafter

VoIP outbound - 10 seconds of silence

Hi
I'm new to VoIP and am setting up software VoIP - I'm actually changing my router shortly so I can use VoIP with the PC off. However ... for the time being, having got everything set up with the software - or so I thought - when I ring out on VoIP ... for the first 10 seconds of the call I hear nothing - but the other party can clearly hear me. When I receive a call to the VoIP number the silence does not happen.
I can see from past topics in this thread that this is not a new issue ... bit I'm unclear what to do to make the outbound service work satisfactorily.
I'm using Visa Home Premuim, a BT Voyager 2100 router - connected by ethernet and "Global IP" SIP software - I could not get SJPhones software to work - both ways were just silence for inbound or outbound calls. The router has IP filtering enabled but disabling it appears to make no difference. There are no ports specifically opened as far as I can tell - the software configured Vista to allow certain ports on installation. Is there any point in enabling it? According to my documentation "If your Broadband service supports NAT (Network Address Translation), then your computers are 'hidden' behind the Voyager Router and your network is therefore already protected from most common Internet attacks. In this case, rather than setting up an IP FIlter, a good quality software anti-virus and Internet security software is recommended to complement the NAT Firewall."
It may be that waiting for the router upgrade to a BT Voyager 2500v, to which I can directly connect a phone, will overcome the problem ... but having tried to set something up I like to lake it work properly ... has anyone else exoperienced this problem and found a solution?
Regards, Colin
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Re: VoIP outbound - 10 seconds of silence

Which version of SJPhone are you using.