cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VoIP behind another router

ericthepig
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-08-2007

VoIP behind another router

I have a Draytek Vigor 2800VG router on which I had the VoIP ports working fine via my Plusnet broadband phone account. But, because the Vigor was frequently dropping the ADSL connection, I replaced it with a Plusnet-provided Thompson TG585 v8 router (no disconnects now).
I now have the Vigor set up and working fine as a switch behind the Thompson.
But, I am really missing the VoIP functions of the Vigor - Is there some way I can set up the Vigor so that the VoIP ports work through the Thompson router?
TIA,
Neil
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

I very much doubt it I'm afraid. The voip ports on the 2800 will be trying to connect via its WAN ( ADSL ) interface. If the Vigor can be configured so that one of its LAN ports could be used as a PPPoE WAN port it might be possible but from what I can see that's not possible.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: VoIP behind another router

Can't you do what I did to my HH2?
Change the default route to the new hub.
You will probably need access to the the cli to do this though.
ericthepig
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

That's what I was hoping to do, but I have no idea how.
Any tips?
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: VoIP behind another router

Well start by telnetting in to it. If that succeeds then you need a cli manual or details on what it will accept.
The HH2 has a menu you can use and it is under
ip rwconfig
where you add a new default route, but yours will probably be different.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

Draytek CLI manual is here ftp://ftp.shlink.de/manuals/draytek_telnet_cmdrefguide_30.pdf
Looks like the equivalent command is 'ip route' ( page 19 )
'wan disable' might also be worth trying.
ericthepig
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

Well, I've got it to register.
BUT, only the callee has sound, I can't hear anything at my end.
Any Ideas appreciated, thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: VoIP behind another router

Check the voip route as well, but since it is registering it will probably be ok.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

Are you using the outbound proxy ?
ericthepig
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

Forgive me, I don't know much about VoIP, I am using 'sip.plus.net'.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

That's the registrar server, there is also the outbound proxy nat.plus.net:5082
It's designed to be used when behind a nat firewall, which you will be now
Check if the 2800 allows you to specify this
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: VoIP behind another router

Here (http://www.josephn.net/bt_home_hub_and_voip) is where I got the setup from my hh2 for voip behind another router you maybe able to modify it.
ericthepig
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

I have a box entitled 'NAT Traversal Setting'. Within there is 'STUN server' and 'External IP'.
I'm wondering if some port(s) needs opening on the Thomson...?

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

Using an outbound proxy eliminates the need to open ports on the router.
I can't find a manual for the 2800 but looking at the 2820 voip setup ( hopefully the same )  it has settings for an outbound proxy.
On the sip account settings page :-
domain/realm - sip.plus.net
proxy - nat.plus.net:5082
act as outbound proxy - checked
nat traversal support - None
Give that a try and let us know the results
ericthepig
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: VoIP behind another router

Thanks MisterW. I have the same settings, except I didn't have the ":5060", so I've added that.
BUT, just to complicate (or hopefully, simplify) matters, Draytek have provided me with different firmware files to try to see if it cures the disconnects.
So, I've restored the Vigor back to its prior duties for now and, of course, the VoIP is working fine.
Thanks for all your help, I may be back...
Neil