cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VOIP on Linux

driveconsultant
Grafter

VOIP on Linux

I'm a newbie to this broadband phone lark - always thought "Got Skype and amsn, why do I need...". Anyway thought I would give it a go and checked the FAQs, and I was really disappointed to see that all the packages listed are for Windoze or Mac. As a long-time Linux user that is not good enough for me. I found a thread about Ekiga, so I'll give that a bash, and I saw some comments about ATA adapters for normal phones, which sounds interesting if it all works well.
After all my waffle, what I want to know is, what is recommended for VOIP on Linux. Apart from Ekiga that is. There's usually more than one choice with Linux - so who likes what and why?
48 REPLIES
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 9

Re: VOIP on Linux

I think the choice is Ekiga or nothing.
I managed to get it working using a very cheap headset (from ebay).
But in all honesty, there was no benefit as I can make cheap calls via BT in the evening,
calls to non-geographic numbers and mobiles are no cheaper
I can make international calls via prepaid cards
And it isn't necessary to switch my PC on.
So unless I invest in some decent VOIP equipment (pricey), I might as well use the ordinary phone.

lingbob
Grafter

There's also KPhone: http://sourceforge.net/projects/kphone
Never looked at it or used it so I couldn't comment on it. Might be worth having a look?
Regards .....
Community Veteran

Ekiga works fine for the Plusnet voip free minutes. You can also use your Skype hardware.
puddy
Grafter

Quote from: Santiago
You can also use your Skype hardware.

How many times do we have to tell you plusnet voip service is NOT skype compatible!!!!
Please be very careful when telling people new to plusnet voip service that  skype equipment is compatible its not