Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UTstarcom GF-210

Annie
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

UTstarcom GF-210

I'm fairly new to VOIP and have been using a cheap USB phone to get started.
Now I'm looking at the UTstarcom GF-210 phone http://www.sipgate.co.uk/voipshop/utstarcom/gf-210
Does anyone know what this phone is like and whether it will work with Plusnet's broadband phone? I have no experience of setting up VOIP hardware other than using X-Lite with the USB phone and I simply followed the instructions on Plusnet's website for that. I'm concerned that I won't understand how to set it up.
What I'm looking for is a phone that will work at home on our broadband connection anywhere in the house without the need to have the computer on. Cost is also a factor. The UTstarcom GF-210 is £49 on Sipgate's website but I don't know if that means it can only be used with sipgate if I buy it there. I'm not really too interested in making SIP - SIP calls as I don't know anyone else using the system. However, my primary reason for it is to utilize the local number to save having a second line.
Also, my existing Plusnet broadband package offers me 120 free mins. I am going to be moving house in a couple of months - will I be able to keep the same package or do I have to sign up with the latest products when I move?
Annie
13 REPLIES
Fixes: 101

Re: UTstarcom GF-210

You should be able to keep your package when you move, but even if you move onto a newer package you can keep your VoIP minutes.
I moved onto unlimited and kept mine.
Looking at the instructions here http://www.sipgate.de/lang/de/en_manual_gf210.pdf it does seem that it will be easily configurable to work with PN.
But I'd wait for a more experienced member to cast their eye over it Smiley
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Fixes: 39

What I'm looking for is a phone that will work at home on our broadband connection anywhere in the house without the need to have the computer on. Cost is also a factor