Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total newbie with questions

Annie
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Total newbie with questions

Hi,
I have not pursued VOIP before now as I've always been very confused by it but I need to have the facility of a second phone number in the household.
I am on PlusNet Broadband Your Way Option 2 with Broadband Phone 120. Here are my questions:
1) Does my package mean that I can phone any landline number starting with 01 or 02 up to 120 minutes in a month for free and make unlimited VOIP calls such as Skype, etc. for free? What do calls cost when I go over the allowance?
2) I originally activated this a long time ago when it was PlusTalk but my login details don't seem to tally with the control panel. Where do I get this information from.
3) Do I get a second telephone number and, if so, what format does it take, ie. what dialling code is at the beginning. Does it cost people the same to call me as if they were to ring my usual BT landline number?
4) Equipment - I have a Netgear DG834GT wireless router. I would like the facility of not needing the computer on to use the Broadband Phone. Therefore, is a wireless VOIP phone the answer to this? The phone is ideally not going to be situated in the same room as the router so my questions is, does the base station (if that is what it is called) have to sit next to the router and can you get a phone which has a separate charger from the bit that plugs into the LAN port so the battery doesn't run down? Any suggestions on make and model of phone would be helpful.
5) Answerphone facility - as I have not managed to log in to the control panel, I'm unaware of what's available. Is there an answerphone/voicemail system and if so, how will I know if I have a voicemail and how do I retrieve the message? Do I have to go onto my computer to do this or does it come up on the phone?
Many thanks.
Annie
Annie
28 REPLIES
Fixes: 101

Re: Total newbie with questions

Hi Annie,