cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Hi
Anyone got the standard issue plusnet router working with sipgate?!
22 REPLIES
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

I cannot get any of my voip phones to work with sipgate
Grandstream GXP2000 Grandstream GXV3005 Nokia E65 Nokia N95 Nokia N95-8GB Nokia N900 Siemens Gigaset 460ip or my speedtouch 716wl router I bought from Plusnet.  I ran in to problems with sipgate 12 months ago
Sipgate even sent the settings to my Nokia Phones and it still does not work.
I gave up and used Draytel instead and they don’t pinch your remaining credit every 3 months like orbtalk and its free! You need to add a credit of £12 to get a free 01/02 number but the money goes in to your account as a credit.  You don’t need a draytek router to join draytel.
If anyone joins can you put me down as a referral please? 822699
Puddy
paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

If anyone joins can you put me down as a referral please? 822699
will do!
I am really keen to get sipgate working though.  I know it is the router as if I plug in my old USRobotics it connects right away.
Do plusnet offer any better free routers yet?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

did you try disabling the sip alg on the tg585 ?
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Quote from: paxy
I know it is the router

Hi Paxy
my friend who i introduced to voip (he likes anything free) and he cannot get sipgate to work and he's using a netgear cable router with virgin using a nokia e65.  I googled the problem it looks like lots of people are having the same trouble.  I always thought sipgate were the best voip company.
Let me know how you get on please?
Kind regards
Puddy
paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Quote from: MisterW
did you try disabling the sip alg on the tg585 ?

How do I do it... let me know and I will give it a go
Cheesy
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

I changed my settings in telnet and all my devices can connect to sipgate!!!
Telnet
Type  o 192.168.1.254
Connected to speedtouch
Escape character is ‘^]’.
Username : Administrator
Password : ********
———-…
… welcome message trimmed
Type menu
look for connection>unbind> application
application=choose sip (press enter key to bring choices up)
port= enter 5060 press enter then choose OK

Re-boot router
puddy
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Quote
How do I do it... let me know and I will give it a go

As puddy just described.
Well found there puddy! , not having a TG585 I was just off to google for how to disable the sip alg but you found it first.
It probably doesn't affect the PlusNet voip sice it uses an outbound proxy ( on port 5082 ) whereas sipgate uses STUN instead and therefore is going to
be using the default 5060 port and the broken TG585 sip alg is getting in the way.

paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

ok - I have given it a go but as I am using sipgate on port 5064 I substituted that.
After I press the final OK I get a message which says:
{admin}=>menu
:connection unbind application=SIP port=5064
Failed to delete CONN binding.
Does this mean I have done something wrong?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Quote
ok - I have given it a go but as I am using sipgate on port 5064 I substituted that.

That will be your local port, you will still need to delete the sip alg binding on port 5060.
paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

HOORAH!!!!!
Thanks all!
Tonight after trying again I have got it all working with sipgate!
Thanks!!!!!
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Glad you got it working
Thiers no help/info on sipgate webpage about this issue
6 months ago sipgate sent service messages to my mobile phone and never helped me after that.  If you Google sipgate there are a lot of users who have the same problem.
I have a friend in Norfolk who has the same problem and he’s a Virgin cable user using a Netgear router and I have no idea on how to help him
It’s a poor way to run a business
puddy
ps paxy did you telnet under win7?
paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Hi Puddy, yes I did telnet under windows 7 - I did have to change somehting first (googled it) as it wasn't enabled by deafult.
Thanks again everyone for all your help.
ArcticFox
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 25-11-2010

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

This has been driving me mad for weeks!
Took out the ALG setting as recommended and my Cisco 7960 registered properly, so would now accept incoming calls, but then I get no incoming voice on dialled in or out, so I've had to reinstate the ALG as I can at least phone out with it on. Any suggestions as to what is going on?
Is what is doubly frustrating is in/out worked with a netgear gateway and D-link router so I figure the phone settings are OK, but I kept getting voice muting for 30 seconds during a phone call, so changed setup at PlusNet request as all external stuff was tried, do I have to buy yet another gateway/router!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG585 v7 and SIPGATE

Quote
Any suggestions as to what is going on?

Have you got the Outbound Proxy configured correctly - natproxy.plus.net:5082. It should work without a SIP ALG as long as that is configured.
.