cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SoftPhone for Windows 7

realsense

SoftPhone for Windows 7

Hello All,
I have been using PlusNet VOIP for about 18 months using SJPhone on Windows XP.
I now have a new computer with Windows 7 (Professional). 
I have installed SJPhone but the connection is incredibly bad - I get big drop outs and both ends get that "matrix" sound where the sound buffer plays a 1/10second loop over and over until connection reestablishes.
When I use Live messenger to make MSN calls - no such drop outs which suggest it might not be my internet connection (unchanged from XP) or soundcard/hardware.
Just tried installing Voxox after looking through http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_VoIP_software but it appears not to allow me to configure my Gradwell / sip.plus.net settings.
As such, my question is:
Can anyone recommend a SoftPhone for Windows 7?
Thanks. Smiley
10 REPLIES
Fixes: 101

Re: SoftPhone for Windows 7

Apparently this works well with windows 7 http://www.3cx.com/VOIP/softphone.html
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Fixes: 39

Hi,
I seem to recall there have been probelms with SjPhone and Vista so I'm not surprised that it has problems with Win 7. I've had good results with X-Lite on most windows platforms ( although I do tend to use Linux at home ) but have not tried it on Win 7. Its certainly fairly easy to configure to PlusNet voip.
Looking at the counterpath website http://counterpath.com/x-lite.html&active=4 it they claim X-Lite Beta 4 is compatible with Win 7 so I'd give that a try. Download from here http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite-download.html.
Someone on another thread a while ago was using 3cx on Vista I think , so that may be ok with Windows 7 as well.
Edit: Ah , I see Adie beat me to it on that one.
realsense

Thank you adiewoo and MisterW.
I have opted to try CounterPath X-Lite Beta 4 and the short of it is I have got it working.