cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simens C475IP disconnects my Broadband - help please!!

cmere
Dabbler

Simens C475IP disconnects my Broadband - help please!!

Hi
As far as I'm aware, I have correctly set up my C475IP but when it's connected to the router, we are constantly loosing the broadband connection.
All rather frustrating and need it up an running asap as it's my new business line number!
Any help and ideas would be really appreciated but please keep them simple as I am no IT expert!!
Thanks for reading.
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Re: Simens C475IP disconnects my Broadband - help please!!

How do you know its the C475IP that causes the disconnects?
cmere
Dabbler

Hi
The lines' been tested and investigated, 2 routers have been tried, different splitters and I've kept a check on the connection logs for the last 2 weeks. 
When the phone is plugged in, it's bye bye connection (on and off), when it's disconnected, it's fine!
Any ideas?
Thanks.
Community Veteran

None I'm afraid I have one C475IP myself and my girlfriend has two, and neither of us suffer from disconnects much at all.
All I can think is that you use a packet sniffer to see the traffic too and from the C475IP, but you'd also need a switch (or router) that supports monitoring (i.e. one that sends the traffic that is going to and from the phone to a different device) and a normal consumer router wouldn't do that...
Try googling the problem... when I did I found this http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,84964.0.html/
cmere
Dabbler

Thanks!
Have read the post from link but seems to stop before it's properly answered!
Will keep trying.
Community Veteran
Fixes: 40

hi cmere,
Like fourforudevon, I also have a C475 and have not had any problems. Have you tried the C475 connected just to the router ( via ethernet ) i.e NOT connected to the landline ?
Does that cause the ADSL to disconnect ?
cmere
Dabbler

Hi MisterW
Thanks for your reply.