cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

between1and16ch
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Hi,
As a point of reference, I have a Gigaset C475IP setup using SIP at the moment and I think its the bees knees in terms of quality and reliability.
I'm after an ATA box of some sort to add to my setup  in a hurry, something that will provide a (full featured if possible?) line for a single POTS device, probably connected through extension wiring, so a REN equivalent of, perhaps, 3 or more?
Sound quality and in service reliability are very important, ease of setup isn't really a consideration, I can cope, and I don't expect to have to fiddle with it very often once I have it set up!
Any thoughts/ideas appreciated
Thanks!
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,598
Thanks: 13
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

I got one of these from a well-known auction site - although it is shipped from Hong Kong it arrived in less than a week, and works fine with a cheap Binatone handset.
between1and16ch
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Thanks for that! - I'll look into that one. Things have just become more urgent - and I'll need to install and set one up this weekend! Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

What about an additional handset for the C475 ?
between1and16ch
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Thanks! I need to be able to plug a normal rj11 'pots' device, supplied to me, into the line (I don't even know the details yet, but I probably need to have it sorted by Monday!!!, and I don't think there's a DECT device available that would allow that?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Ah, I see now  Embarrassed , must read the posts more thoroughly
In that case have a look here http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/default_ShopGroup.asp?ShopGroupID=96&Sort=3
This http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?ProductID=13464 looks like it should be ok as long as you don't need PSTN pass though
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Quote
I need to be able to plug a normal rj11 'pots' device

It is just a voice device isn't it ? Things like faxes and modems don't work too well ( if at all ) over a voip line.
between1and16ch
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Thanks, yep its just voice, but I am looking to use the higher quality codecs for good sound quality, so the device needs to support them properly. I have fttc so bandwidth is never likely to be a issue.
The Linksys PAP2T-NA that Jaggies suggested above would be a good option, if I could find a very reliable next day delivery service, but looking around at the moment, does anyone have any experience/thoughts of the Cisco SPA-112? http://www.misco.co.uk/Product/164941/Cisco-Small-Business-Phone-Adapter-with-Two-VoIP-Ports
between1and16ch
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

I've just noticed the links that you posted above above, MisterW,. Thanks, I'll take a look at those.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Strangely one of my links was the SPA112 , no experience of it but it should work ok.
between1and16ch
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-09-2008

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

I've ordered the SPA112 from Misco (because I've dealt with them before) for Saturday delivery, which is just in time - so fingers crossed the courier doesn't mess up!
Thanks again to MisterW and Jaggies for your help - it was appreciated!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Hope it works ok. I managed to find a manual for the SPA 100 series if you want to read up before it arrives
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/csbpvga/spa100-200/admin_guide/SPA100_AG_OL-25117.pdf
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Hi
These setting will be of some help
Kind regards
Puddy
UK Settings for Linksys PAP2 Device

Line Enable:  yes
sip port :5060 try 5062 for line 2
proxy :sip.plus.net                  Register: Yes
Make Call Without Reg: No      Register Expires: 3600
Ans Call Without Reg  :  No
Display Name: sip  id number    User ID: sip id number
Password: sip password          Use Auth ID: Yes
Auth ID: sip id number
Audio Configuration
Preferred Codec:G7LLu            Silence Supp Enable: no
Use Pref Codec Only:No          FAX CED Detect Enable:No
DTMF Tx Method: INFO
Line 1  Advance Settings
Proxy and Registration 
Outbound Proxy:nat.plus.net:5082 or try natproxy.plus.net:5082
save settings
United Kingdom Regional Settings
Dial tone: 350@-19,440@-22;10(*/0/1+2)
Ring back: 400@-20,450@-20;*(.4/.2/1+2,.4/2/1+2)
Busy tone: 400@-20;10(.375/.375/1)
Reorder tone: 400@-20;10(*/0/1)
SIT 1 tone: 950@-16,1400@-16,1800@-16;20(.330/0/1,.330/0/2,.330/0/3,0/1/0)
MWI dial tone: 350@-19,440@-22;10(.75/.75/1+2)
CWT1 cadence: 30(.1/2)
CWT2 cadence: 30(.25/.25,.25/.25,.25/5)
CWT frequency: 400@-10
Ring 1 cadence: 60(.4/.2,.4/2)
Ring 2 cadence (BT Call Sign): 60(1/2)
Ring 3 cadence (BT Ring Back): 60(.25/.25,.25/.25,.25/1.75)
Ring 4 cadence: 60(.4/ .
Ring 5 cadence: 60(2/4)
Time Zone: GMT
FXS Port Impedance: 370+620||310nF
Caller ID Method: ETSI FSK With PR(UK)
Daylight Saving Rule: start=3/-1/7/2:0:0;end=10/-1/7/2:0:0;save=1:0:
UK dial plan
this will change problems when dialing number
( *x. | **x. | 0xxx xxx xxx. | 186 xxx xxxx | [1-8]xx | [1-8]xxx | [1-9]xx xxxx | 00 xxxxx x. | 141 0 x. | 1470 0 x. )
If you get this problem
Applied al lthe settings that were listed by Puddy but couldn't receive incoming calls.
The "Use Outbound Proxy" box  has to be set to Yes
wisty
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 431
Thanks: 53
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

Be careful!
Quote from: Jaggies
I got one of these from a well-known auction site - although it is shipped from Hong Kong it arrived in less than a week, and works fine with a cheap Binatone handset.

I ordered one of these from a Chinese supplier ( one offering UK shipping).
The first arrived quickly, was easy to set up and worked - for a month - then it died. Took me three weeks of e-mails to get them to admit a fault, then they  said ship it back - to China. Three weeks later after denying it had arrived, they "found it" and sent another from their UK stock.
That was DOA. They stopped answering e-mails.
Both were fakes ( wrong MAC addresses)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,598
Thanks: 13
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Recommend a single line good quality ATA.

I must have just been lucky I suppose. Mine worked fine straight out of the box, and I've never had any issues since.