cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

Is anyone else having issues when using X-lite version 5? Sometimes I notice the sound is a bit choppy.
I know the reason - the Ellanoyas are not picking up the traffic properly and for both incoming and outgoing calls it's being put in to 0x80 (gold).
Is there someone else using this soft phone that could check which queue the traffic is in?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

This seems a bit hit and miss (mainly miss).
I've been doing more tests and have ONCE seen a call in the correct 0xA0 queue after restarting X-lite.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

Is it just X-Lite that's being misclassified or is it voip(sip) in general ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

That I don't know. I'd have thought if it was a general problem there would be more complaints.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,626
Thanks: 611
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

Even in Gold it shouldn't really be choppy. I rarely use my VoIP and haven't got X-Lite so can't really give much info here.
I've asked someone to take a look at the wireshark you've submitted.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

It was between 20:45 and 21:15 last night that I made the call when I noticed the choppiness. It didn't disrupt the call but I could tell it wasn't as good as usual. I also had a VPN session open at the time over which I was using remote desktop.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

I've had a quick look through the capture. It is unlikely to do with it, but I am seeing one odd thing. Do you know if there is any reason why there is no incoming audio stream for 7.2 seconds from when you started sending data?
One possible reason is silence suppression, however I would still expect the start of the RTP stream to occur, before the silence starts.
Due to the way silence suppression can work, can you disable this and try again?
Regardless, the priority is certainly wrong and will be looked at.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

I didn't actually speak over the test call so it possibly only started when I handled the receiver.
I'll look in to silence suppression - does that work the same in both directions?
Edit: The only options I can see in X-lite are under Audio Quality
  • Reduce echos from speakers (AEC) - on
  • Reduce background noise - on
  • Automatic gain control - on
  • Preserve bandwidth during silent periods - off
    I'll try changing the last one.
  • jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    prichardson
    Grafter
    Posts: 1,503
    Registered: 05-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    Yes,
    It's a negotiated settings, so if the client indicates it does not want it, it will result in the relevant RTP stream to occur.
    As above, not convinced it is related though.
    Community Veteran
    Posts: 26,357
    Thanks: 607
    Fixes: 8
    Registered: 10-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    Quote from: jelv
  • Preserve bandwidth during silent periods - off
    I'll try changing the last one.

  • I've just uploaded a new trace with the last option changed.
    jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    prichardson
    Grafter
    Posts: 1,503
    Registered: 05-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    Eventually got around to this again.
    Yep, that quickly confirms that it wasn't related, but we never expecting anything different. It does however prevent the 7 seconds without a packet to ensure it wasn't related to a flow that was not setup.
    Incidentally, we have received a signature this morning for the Voicemail issue. As per the info I sent to you already, the proposed fix goes beyond Voicemail so there is a good chance we may be resolving this anyway.
    Not sure how far we will be away getting this in as it needs to undergo normal testing first. I will however ask you to do some testing following this.
    Community Veteran
    Posts: 26,357
    Thanks: 607
    Fixes: 8
    Registered: 10-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    Thanks
    jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    Community Veteran
    Posts: 26,357
    Thanks: 607
    Fixes: 8
    Registered: 10-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    The signature update that went in this morning was supposed to fix VoIP.
    Testing today has shown something very strange. Monitoring X-lite startup and an outgoing call it all started OK (0xA0) but then it looks as if mid call it reverted to 0x80!
    jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    prichardson
    Grafter
    Posts: 1,503
    Registered: 05-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    Indeed,
    Per the ticket response, this isn't correct and something else we need to check into. This said, something else is happening here other than it not recognising the traffic.
    On the contrary, it is categorising it as something other than VoIP. We will need to find time to work with you on a call and see exactly which signature it is now hitting.
    Community Veteran
    Posts: 26,357
    Thanks: 607
    Fixes: 8
    Registered: 10-04-2007

    Re: Poor call quality when using X-lite 5

    What progress is being made with this issue? Earlier today there were a number of total drop outs mid call where it went silent at both ends for a few seconds.
    We still don't know what signature it is hitting and therefore whether the Pro add-on would help.
    Edit: Might a gateway hop help? Currently on lo0-central10.ptn-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.193]
    jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)