Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PlusNet voip and Asterisk

timsmith
Grafter

PlusNet voip and Asterisk

Hi,
Im hoping someone can help as this is making me tear my hair out now!
Ive got an asterisk box installed at home with a routable IP address. The two sipgate VOIP trunks I have configured work perfectly. I recently took up PlusNet Broadband Phone and cannot get the trunk to work reliably.
Without changing the configuration, sometimes calls go through perfectly (to the "weasels test app") and other times, I get messages on the asterisk console that there is no extension configured.  As my asterisk box is continually on and nothing changes between these test calls, I can only assume that something is different in the SIP packetst that PlusNet are sending.
Im pretty new to Asterisk and SIP so Im struggle to suss this one out and would appreciate any help.
the relevant excerpts from sip.conf and extensions.conf are below. At the moment teh call is supposed to go to a Conference Bridge with meetme. As with weasels, sometimes this works and other times it doesnt.
[general]                                                                                                                                         

register=778XXXX:XXXXXX@sip2.plus.net/778XXXX                                                                                                   
defaultexpiry=60                                                                                                                                 

[778XXXX]                                                                                                                                         
type=friend                                                                                                                                       
host=sip2.plus.net