cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Number porting to voip

zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Number porting to voip

I have tried asking via ticket system if I can port my phone number to my voip so it rings in and out but I seem to get no response. Does anyone here know if it is possible?
21 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

Hiya,
I'll try and get someone to pick this up for you.
It looks like there's a problem with the help assistant that's meant your ticket is being sent to the incorrect pool.
If you wouldn't mind raising a new ticket and letting me know the ticket ID, I'll make sure that it gets to the right team - apparently what you're asking for can be done.
paxy
Grafter
Posts: 254
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

I have a second number that is used with BT Call Sign - would it be possible to port this to VOIP?Huh
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

Well after a very long time CS has come back and said it can't be done. (many days)
So I had a quick look and Gradwell want £4.00 a month and will port for £20
Sipgate foc and porting foc & 1000mins for 5.95
Intrestingly when asking Sipgate questions their cs reply almost straight away ie within 5 mins
ramidoodle
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 28-09-2008

Re: Number porting to voip

I'm sorry that this has not been done, we rarely deal with number porting to VOIP and to be honest not everyone is familiar with this. I haven't done it myself but I can't see a reason for not being able to do it as our VOIP supplier (Gradwell) can do it.
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

Can you point me in the right direction please?
ramidoodle
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 28-09-2008

Re: Number porting to voip

Hi there, I've contacted Gradwell about number porting and expect them to reply by email or a phone call shortly as number porting is not very well documented internally for us. will keep you updated
ramidoodle
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 28-09-2008

Re: Number porting to voip

Hi,
we will need to get a copy of the front page, for the bill of the phone number you want to port, can you get this scanned and attached to a ticket please? this should include your name, the address and the account number.
We will also need this form to be filled, this requires a signature so it needs scanning after it's been signed.
this will cost £10. BTW, there is also a help section at gradwell website about how to fill the form
let us know please once you've done this so that I can pass it to gradwell to get the ball rolling
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

Thanks for your help I will deal with on Saturday.
pcoventry
Grafter
Posts: 434
Registered: 26-11-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

Nice one Rami. I was about to come in and say yes it can be done but then noticed you have beaten me to it.
Wink
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip


Please see ticket no. 30293498
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

At last I have ported the number to BB phone
Thanks to Ramidoodle for all your help
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

It would now appear that my voip account is now direct with Gradwell according to the latest reply I have had from a cs agent and I have to pay them, I am just wondering whether this is correct?
Simon_M
Grafter
Posts: 684
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

This is guesswork, but I suspect that Plusnet hardly ever do number porting, so it will all have been handled by Gradwell. I wouldn't be surprised if the payment for the number porting has to be paid direct to them.
I would be surprised if any ongoing account payments need to be paid to Gradwell, but there are some differences between ported PSTN numbers & those issued directly onto new accounts. It's just possible that Plusnet can't handle these accounts with their system & that your whole account has been transferred.
That might be a bit of an administrative nuisance, but I wouldn't look upon it as an altogether bad thing.
zpeterk
Grafter
Posts: 377
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Number porting to voip

I have just checked and PN are still charging me for calls - I haven't got a clue whats going on!!