cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi All,
I bought a Netphone from Ebay and have been trying to get it working using my Plusnet VOIP settings.
I keep getting errors when it tries to logon and I've entered all the account settings that work fine on softphones (I am using X-lite 5).
The phone is plugged into our Netgear router via a LAN cable and is picking up the IP address via DHCP. It even downloaded it's own latest firmware so it seems to have a connection to the Internet.
The phone guide says it can use Dynamic IP (I think this is DHCP), PPPoE or Static IP. I have only used DHCP so far as I am not aware of the other settings.
Could it be my account settings? These are the options on the phone and the settings I have entered:
SIP Server: sip.plus.net or sip2.plus.net
Domain: sip.plus.net
User ID: 1234567 or 1234567@sip.plus.net
Password: as per VOIP control panel
IP phone number: as per VOIP control panel
Can anyone suggest where I am going wrong or what else I can try?
Many thanks,
Jeff
14 REPLIES
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi Jeff,
You note you are using the password of your VoIP control panel. This may not be the correct one.
If you enter your email address to login to the VoIP control panel, then the password is not the same for SIP.
If you are using the SIP ID to login to the control panel, then you are using the correct control panel. Please note that using this ID will not provide you full access, but only settings for that specific SIP ID.
BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi Phil,
The password I am using is the randomly created string from the VOIP control panel - not the password I use to login to the control panel.
As I said, my settings all work fine on X-lite 5 but not on my hardware phone.
Thanks for the reply.
Jeff
BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi All,
After many hours of changing settings, I am no further forward.
I've tried:
SIP Server: sip.plus.net:5060
Domain: sip.plus.net:5060
User ID: 1234567 or 1234567@sip.plus.net:5060
SIP Server: sip2.plus.net:5060
Domain: sip2.plus.net:5060
User ID: 1234567 or 1234567@sip2.plus.net:5060
SIP Server: sip.plus.net
Domain: sip.plus.net
User ID: 1234567 or 1234567@sip.plus.net
SIP Server: sip2.plus.net
Domain: sip2.plus.net
User ID: 1234567 or 1234567@sip2.plus.net
All I get is "Logon failed".
Password has been checked and double-checked.
The phone menus do not include anything about ports and seem to be fairly basic and easy to configure.
I have had no trouble setting up with X-Lite 5 on PC and CSipSimple on Android so what is up with this phone?
Thanks in advance.
Jeff
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,262
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

I've just looked at a QIG here www.konceptusa.com/.../KE1020A_Install_Guide_V4.33.07.pdf and it tends to indicate that the 'domain' field is the 'realm'. In which case try newsip as the domain.
BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi MisterW,
Thanks for the suggestion but no joy I'm afraid.
Any idea which of my settings is correct or are they all potentially correct?
Jeff
BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Bit of a development...I've realised that the phone has a web based config page!
The fields available are as follows:
SIP Server Address:
Provider Index: (greyed out)
Regster Port:
SIP Port:
Domain Name:
Expire Time:
NAT Traversal: DISABLE / ENABLE / STUN
NAT Server address:
IP Phone Number:
User ID
Password:
Could anyone tell me the settings for these, please?
Many thanks,
Jeff
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,262
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

I would suggest
SIP Server Address: sip.plus.net
Provider Index: (greyed out)
Regster Port: 5060
SIP Port: 5060
Domain Name: newsip ( or maybe sip.plus.net )
Expire Time: 3600
NAT Traversal: DISABLE / ENABLE / STUN try ENABLE
NAT Server address: nat.plus.net:5082
IP Phone Number: your pstn number
User ID your 7 digit sip ID
Password: your sip password
BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi,
After a break from trying, I am still unable to get this phone to connect successfully using the suggestions above.
Should I just give up and smash the phone against the nearest wall?
Jeff
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,262
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

I've reread the manul again. Smiley
Can you try setting the NAT Traversal to DISABLE.
Quote
disable: Select this item when the sip proxy server and IP phone in the same LAN, or the sip proxy system supports the IP phone working behind the LAN

As a matter of interest what fault is the phone reporting, according the the manual ( now moved to http://www2.konceptusa.com/uploaded_documents/KE1020A_Install_Guide_V4.33.07.pdf ) there seem to be 2 possibilities
Quote
Phone can’t login server and continues to display ‘Wait Logon’
The LCD lights 3 sec, extinguishes 1 sec, lights 1 and extinguishes 1 sec,
OR
Quote
Phone can’t login server and continues to display ‘Wait Logon’
The LCD lights 3 sec, extinguishes 1 sec, lights 3 and extinguishes 1 sec,

If there's no clues from the above then its a matter of trying to diagnose the registration process from the phone. The problem is that you need to capture the network packets between the phone and router and that isn't easy. It usually involves either a network switch with a monitor port or a PC with 2 network cards capable of operating in bridge mode.
Edit: Having poked around 'tinternet a bit , I found this http://www.techiehq.net/computing/voip-firmware-unlocking-32461.html which suggests the phone is based on the PA1688 VoIP chip. Further googling gets to here http://palmmicro.com/woody/blog/pa1688/20080806.php which eventually lists some firmwares here http://palmmicro.com/pa1688/software/sw168.html. So if the worst comes to the worst, rather than bin it, it might just be worth trying a firmware update...
BestPump
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Thanks for your perseverance and help.
Will try this and report back.
Jeff
aucheorn
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 08-01-2013

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

I have bought a NetPhone KE1020A And after many attempts to get it to work I was about to give up and contacted the seller with the intention of returning the phone.
What you have to do is DOWNGRADE the firmware. The file required is Koncept_sip_4.32.06.bin
Do it through the web admin page.  Once you've done this and entered your details and saved them the phone will say {  NEW FIRMWARE Upgrade ? }  IGNORE THIS by pressing esc.the phone will then connect to PlusNet
Now just to find out why I can't hear the person I call, but they can hear me.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,262
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Quote
Now just to find out why I can't hear the person I call, but they can hear me.

That's usually a NAT problem. Make sure you've got the NAT server configured
NAT Server address: nat.plus.net:5082

if that's correct then try experimenting with the NAT Traversal settings as either enabled or disabled but NOT STUN
Projjer
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Hi There
Not on Plusnet yet, but I will be when I relocate back to UK in a couple of weeks  Smiley
Here in Spain I have set up a number of Netphone KE1020s to work to Sipgate (UK) over a variety of the ISPs available here
Settings were done from the browser - but note that there seems to be a timeout in operation post login - so best to do changes promptly.
My process is
1 - Plug phone into router and power up
2 - On phone press "esc" key to get IP address and confirm software version (should be 4.32.06 - see earlier posts about this)
3 - If offered "Software Update Available reject by pressing "esc"
4 - Put IP address into browser
5 - At login page enter "Acess Code" - 1234
6 - The "NetPhone KE1020 Settings" page should be displayed.
  6a (optional) - For the TP Link routers that I install I like to use a static IP so I change iptype to "static" and make local ip 192.168.1.199
  6b - Save settings and wait for success notification.
  6c - Put new static address into browser and login again
7 - SIP server is sipgate.co.uk
8 - outbound proxy is sipgate.co.uk
9 - User ID is a 7 digit number as supplied by Sipgate (SIP-ID) eg 1234567
10 - Password is alphanumeric as supplied by Sipgate(SIP Password) eg  AB47DF9H
11 - IP Phone No is the same number as the SIP-ID
12 - nat traversal is set to "enable"
13 - Save changes
14 - Login again to confirm all changes correct (just in case timeout triggered)
15 - At this point I power off the phone and power on the phone.
Hopefully success will be the result (don't forget to reject software upgrades)
I will be bringing one of my spare phones back to UK so should be able to try it for myself  Smiley
HTH
Projjer
jorvikmik
Grafter
Posts: 146
Thanks: 3
Registered: 29-12-2007

Re: Netphone KE1020A / KE1021A Setup

Did you get it working ok? If so I would be most grateful for the details