cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

My Gigaset A580IP and Netgear DG834G have been happily working together for years. I should have left well alone but I decided I needed a backup router so  have just bought a Netgear DGN2200.
I set this up this morning and everything is working ok except I can't get my A580 to register (SIP registration failed). I've not altered any of the A580 settings so the only thing that has changed is the router. To check that it isn't an account problem, I've downloaded X-Lite 5 and can make and receive call using this without problem.
I can ping the A580 and can log in to the configuration interface so the phone is definitely on my network. Before I give up and reinstall the DG834G, has anyone got any ideas what the problem might be?
Thanks - Bob
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,373
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Thanks for your reply ...
Yes, I had seen that thread but no I haven't tried using slot 2 (I'm currently using slot 1) as it seemed such an obscure solution. Nothing ventured I suppose so I'll give this a go over the weekend.
Bob
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

I've tried slot 2 but it's the same.
I don't know if this is anything to do with it but I'm getting a lot of entries in the router log like:
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 77.238.187.34:80, Friday, February 15,2013 19:46:05     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 77.238.187.34:80, Friday, February 15,2013 19:45:36     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 77.238.187.34:80, Friday, February 15,2013 19:45:07     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 31.13.72.55:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:44:35     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 31.13.72.55:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:43:31     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 31.13.72.55:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:43:03     
[DoS attack: RST Scan] from source: 31.13.72.39:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:42:35     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 66.211.178.203:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:39:59     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 31.13.72.55:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:38:41     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 31.13.72.55:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:38:07     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 31.13.72.55:443, Friday, February 15,2013 19:37:36     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 84.93.230.178:80, Friday, February 15,2013 19:33:36     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 84.93.230.178:80, Friday, February 15,2013 19:33:08     
[DoS attack: ACK Scan] from source: 84.93.230.178:80, Friday, February 15,2013 19:32:39     
I've not seen these on the old router.
Bob
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

I tried a couple of things this morning but neither worked:
Making my phone the default DMZ server.
Changing NAT filtering on the router from “Secured” to “Open”.
I think my next step is swap the routers back and make sure that it still works with the old router but that will have to wait until tomorrow.
Frustrating !!
Bob
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,249
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Bob,
I think the DGN2200 has a broken SIP ALG, try disabling it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Hi MisterW.
I did try disabling SIP ALG (sorry I should have posted) although not in combination with putting the phone in to the DMZ. I'll have a bit more of a play with it today.
Bob
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,249
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Yes, I just noticed that you said x-lite works OK, so it should'nt be a sip alg problem.
Does the a580 get an IP address OK ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Yes it does. I can ping it and log in to the configuration interface ok.
Bob.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Well I've just reinstalled my old router and my phone registered straight away  Shocked
So I think I'll be taking the DGN2200 back for a swap - any recommendations?
Bob.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

I've opened a support case with Netgear so I'll see if that yields a solution.
Bob
wykehamhouse
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: 01-02-2013

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

I doubt you will I am afraid. From experience, their support is utter rubbish.
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Netgear have responded saying that I may need to do some port forwarding. My knowledge of these things is somewhat vague, would that be port 5060 (for sip.plus.net) and 5082 (for natproxy.plus.net)? Also am I right in thinking that as I've already tried putting the phone in the router's DMZ without success, that port forwarding is unlikely to make any difference?
Thanks - Bob.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,249
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

Port forwarding isn't needed when you use the outbound proxy.
Anyway it wouldn't prevent registration, it would only affect audio and possibly incoming calls.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Netgear DGN2200 and Gigaset A580IP Problem

... so does that mean that it's unlikely to be a router firewall issue?
Bob.
Edit - actually I've just reread their response. They didn't actually use the term "port forward", they said I might have to open some ports.