cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Mantrid
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 05-12-2014

My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

I recently moved from BT Broadband to Plusnet unlimited fibre. Since the changeover both my sipgate voip phone no longer work. I'm using the same router (BiPac 8800NL) the only changes have been Plusnet account and password. I've also tried the openreach modem connected to my router, but get the same results. Everything else (www, usenet, email) all work ok. Can anyone suggest an answer.
Thanks
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 82
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Have you tried turning off your Plusnet firewall?
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall
Mantrid
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 05-12-2014

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Thanks for replying, yes I turned the firewall off, it made no difference.
I think it must be something Plusnet do, or don't do. I got this router about 3 weeks ago and it's been working fine
until plusnet was installed. As I said earlier the only settings changed my end were the plusnet login stuff.
Thanks again
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,256
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Very strange! AFAIK PlusNet don't do anything that should affect voip ( other than the firewall as npr mentioned ). Did you disconnect/reconnect after you turned the firewall off, since any change in setting won't take place until the ppp session is dropped.
Do you use the sipgate STUN server OR the outbound proxy in your configuration ?
What make/model voip phone do you have and does it have any logging/diagnostic facilities ?
 
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

I use Sipgate (and a few other providers) for VOIP telephony on my PN connection without any problems.  I have the PN firewall set to 'Off' but I don't remember testing Sipgate with it on.
Regarding the PN firewall, you need to disconnect and reconnect if you make changes to any setting.
What does the Sipgate webpage say under "Status"?  Does it show your device as 'Online' ie correctly registered?  
Can you explain more about what doesn't work?  Incoming audio, outgoing audio, both?  
What error(s) does you phone/soft phone show?
Mantrid
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 05-12-2014

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

The Sipgate status show both phones 'offline',
I've got two sipgate accounts, one using a Budgetone 100 and another using a PAP2, the PAP2 worked for long enough to make a test call, then stopped.
Both phones don't no do anything
adie:quote
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Sorry, I really can't help if you can't explain in more detail what "doesn't work' and any error messages etc...  Sad


Mantrid
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 05-12-2014

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Sorry about my poor explanation, but I'm not to clever with voip stuff.
Someone on another newsgroup prodded me in the right direction
I needed to change the DNS settings in my two phones, all is now working ok.
M
Dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,379
Thanks: 199
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Have you seen the thread on the ThinkBroadband forum - "SipGate Closing 31/12/2014"  ?
If it is true that SipGate are closing down residential connections at the end of the month, then it may not be worth making much effort in trying to get it working, and instead look for a new VoIP provider and start again from scratch ?
Having said that, it does seem a little odd that SipGate seem to still be advertising a residential service - http://www.live.sipgate.co.uk
Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,345
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

After turning off the Plusnet firewall did you do a disconnect then connect via the router interface (or reboot it - not the best option!)? If not the Plusnet firewall will still be on.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

@ purleigh & Jelv
I guess you missed the post saying it was ok now. For some reason changing the DNS on the phone fixed things. I can't think why DNS would stop it working, quite odd (maybe DNS only accessible from a BT connection?).
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,803
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: My voip Phone stopped working after Upgrade

Quote from: RPMozley
... maybe DNS only accessible from a BT connection?

I suspect you're right:
C:\Windows\System32>nslookup bbc.co.uk 62.6.40.178
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  62.6.40.178
*** UnKnown can't find bbc.co.uk: Query refused
C:\Windows\System32>nslookup bbc.co.uk 194.74.65.68
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  194.74.65.68
*** UnKnown can't find bbc.co.uk: Query refused
C:\Windows\System32>nslookup bbc.co.uk 213.120.234.10
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  213.120.234.10
*** UnKnown can't find bbc.co.uk: Query refused

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵