cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lynksys PAP2-NA Adapter

Whiskerpuss
Grafter

Lynksys PAP2-NA Adapter

I'm totally new to all this, so bear with me.
The Lynksys pap2 adapters all seem to be about £32-£35 each, I've seen some on Ebay brand new for £9.99.
Are these safe to buy? The listings say unlocked and I think the sellers are Hong Kong (bought stuff from HK before with no problems).
Any advice gratefully received.
The reason I want an adapter is cos on the sjphone I keep getting cut off or else sometimes the person I call can't hear me, and I have to keep going into sound settings and fiddling around til it works again.
And, when I get this adapater can I use any landline type phone for the broadband phone, and is it ok to plug the landline phone into it, it's a wireless phone so the base has built in answer machine etc in it.
Sorry I'm no geek, so can you reply in simple terms as if you're talking to an idiot (cos you are lol).
Cheers.
4 REPLIES
johpal
Grafter

Re: Lynksys PAP2-NA Adapter

I'm no techie either! At the risk of being censored for advertising, I bought my unit at BroadBand Stuff (29.81). You also need a converter for the  RJ11 to BT connector (so you can plug an ordinary corded, or cordless 'phone into it), available from the same website. Mine was already configured for all UK ringtones, etc. After configuring it for the Broadband Phone connection, it worked first time. Buying from abroad, you *MAY* end up with a unit that gives you "foreign" tones; these can be adjusted, but it looks just too much bother. Also, look out for the postage costs on those Ebay sites.
Caveat Emptor
puddy
Grafter

I get mine from ebay and have never had a problem I must have brought at least 30 over the past year. 

Only go for one priced lower than £16.  Mine all come from HongKong so it is safe to do a deal with them.