cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Valencia
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 24-06-2008

How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Anyone got the Plusnet configuration for a Linksys PAP2-NA, I have put in what I thought was correct, all the LED's are perm ON, but I cannot get a dial tone.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Puddy's the expert on PAP2's. Either wait until he/she ( think it's she ) pops in here or drop her a PM. I'm sure she'll help you out.
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

UK Settings for Linksys PAP2 Device

Line Enable:  yes
sip port :5060
proxy :sip.plus.net                  Register: Yes
Make Call Without Reg: No       Register Expires: 3600
Ans Call Without Reg  :  No
Display Name: sip  id number    User ID: sip id number
Password: sip password           Use Auth ID: Yes
Auth ID: sip id number
Audio Configuration
Preferred Codec:G7LLu            Silence Supp Enable: no
Use Pref Codec Only:No           FAX CED Detect Enable:No
DTMF Tx Method: INFO
Line 1  Advance Settings
Proxy and Registration 
Outbound Proxy:nat.plus.net:5082
save settings
United Kingdom Regional Settings
Dial tone: 350@-19,440@-22;10(*/0/1+2)
Ring back: 400@-20,450@-20;*(.4/.2/1+2,.4/2/1+2)
Busy tone: 400@-20;10(.375/.375/1)
Reorder tone: 400@-20;10(*/0/1)
SIT 1 tone: 950@-16,1400@-16,1800@-16;20(.330/0/1,.330/0/2,.330/0/3,0/1/0)
MWI dial tone: 350@-19,440@-22;10(.75/.75/1+2)
CWT1 cadence: 30(.1/2)
CWT2 cadence: 30(.25/.25,.25/.25,.25/5)
CWT frequency: 400@-10
Ring 1 cadence: 60(.4/.2,.4/2)
Ring 2 cadence (BT Call Sign): 60(1/2)
Ring 3 cadence (BT Ring Back): 60(.25/.25,.25/.25,.25/1.75)
Ring 4 cadence: 60(.4/ .8 close commer if i do it I get a smiley face
Ring 5 cadence: 60(2/4)
Time Zone: GMT
FXS Port Impedance: 370+620||310nF
Caller ID Method: ETSI FSK With PR(UK)
Daylight Saving Rule: start=3/-1/7/2:0:0;end=10/-1/7/2:0:0;save=1:0:
UK dial plan
this will change problems when dialing number
( *x. | **x. | 0xxx xxx xxx. | 186 xxx xxxx | [1-8]xx | [1-8]xxx | [1-9]xx xxxx | 00 xxxxx x. | 141 0 x. | 1470 0 x. )

puddy

Valencia
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Thanks for that, I will print it out and try later.
I must have it nearly right because it stated I was "ONLINE" in the PAP2 config, just NO dial tone

Valencia
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Well its two days on and I'm getting nowhere, after setting up as per config not only didn't it work, but now I have lost my Tel LED on the PAP2.
I did a factory reset on the PAP2 and did it all again, still no joy, I can't get a ringtone or LED, even used another test phone.
I think the easiest way is to use a USB sip phone.
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Raise a ticket with plusnet and also ask them to confirm your voip account number and password.  Last time my devices stopped working the password had been changed on my account
On some plusnet voip accounts you may have to drop a digit?
How did you connect the BT phone in to the linksys pap2 adapter? you should use a uk to usa adapator http://www.voipdepot.co.uk/rj11bt-p30183.html
puddy
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Quote from: Valencia
Well its two days on and I'm getting nowhere, after setting up as per config not only didn't it work,

Here gradwell setup page
https://portal.gradwell.net/support.php/knowledgebase/view/category_id/35/article_id/261
just to cross referance gradwell supply plusnets voip service
were you see gradwell enter sip.plus.net
outbound proxy enter nat.plus.net:5082
proxy box showing lon-pbx should be left blank its line 2 settings
puddy
dont forget you need a bt rj11 adapter found here http://www.voipdepot.co.uk/rj11bt-p30183.html
Valencia
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Once again thanks, my password etc is OK because X-Lite works fine from the PC.
I will try again on Monday to configure
beeman
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 26-04-2008

Re: How to configure Linksys PAP2-NA to Plusnet

Applied al lthe settings that were listed by Puddy ( many thanks) but couldn't receive incoming calls.
Found the answer on Linksys site. The "Use Outbound Proxy" box  has to be set to Yes.