cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I setup Broadband Phone using a normal handset?

ruthwhiteyoga
Dabbler

How do I setup Broadband Phone using a normal handset?

Total newbie here.
I want to use a normal telephone handset for Plusnet Broadband phone, and reading the literature it says I can when using an ATA.  I think I have one of these (borrowed from work where the phones go through a digital network).
I have downloaded SJphones and all it seems to want me to do is use the speakers and microphone (which I don't have) to set up.  How do I tell SJphones that I have a normal telephone handset instead?Huh
Please help..... thanks
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 39

Re: How do I setup Broadband Phone using a normal handset?

How do I tell SJphones that I have a normal telephone handset instead?Huh

You don't!. If you want to use a normal telephone handset using an ATA then you don't need SjPhone ( or any other softphone ) or even the computer on at all.
You plug the handset into the ATA and configure the ATA to connect to your PlusNet voip account.
Now I'm not sure whether what you are describing
I think I have one of these (borrowed from work where the phones go through a digital network).
is actually a voip ATA, have you got any more details ?
petermaughan
Grafter

Hi,
You might consider getting a VoIP adapter from Gradwell, if you have already got a standard phone to use.  See:
http://store.gradwell.com/adapters/pap2t
Otherwise, if you don't already have a phone, you could consider buying an adapter / phone combination such as the Seimens Gigaset S685
http://store.gradwell.com/cordless/s685

Both of these options would plug into your existing router with an Ethernet cable.
I think the adapter you borrowed from work might not be suitable for VoIP.
Peter
puddy
Grafter

@ruthwhiteyoga
Did you manage to get your voip ata to work or do you need anymore help?
Puddy
ruthwhiteyoga
Dabbler