cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

Just got a 716 from digidave, and am trying to get the voip to work, but all I get is a red cross under registered
Can anybody help me with this please.
Cheers
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

I'm no expert but found this http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/speedtouch716.shtml in the PlusNet support pages if it helps.
Bob
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

Well I have done all that  Shocked
But it still is sitting on unregistered
So I must have to do something else or I have a faulty router?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,291
Thanks: 2
Registered: 10-08-2007

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

This is the guide I used. I got it from MisterW or puddy, I cant remember which, but credit to them. I hope it helps
Quote
Router IP access is 192.168.1.254
For voip settings go >tool box >Telephony > Service Configuration
Click add, then enter settings below
Configure
SIP URI = account number 
Username:  = account number
Password:  =account pasword
Confirm Password: =account password 
Display name:  blank
Abbreviated number:  =account number
Port:  Phone 1
Expert Configure
Telephony
Service Configuration

Registrar:  = sip.plus.net
Registrar Port:  =5060
Proxy: =sip.plus.net
Proxy Port:  =5060
Expire Time: =3600
Go back in to Configure and click apply
Wait a few minutes for the red x to disappear and you will hear a click and a green tick will appear (hopefully)
DO NOT UPDATE THE FIRMWARE because it crashes the voip settings, it locks them up
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

Ok that was much the same as I have, the proxy port is different, I was told 5082 by plusnet, but the other settings are the same.
One thing my 716 is running firmware 6.2.29.2 is it this that is causing the issue?
pnf
Grafter
Posts: 266
Registered: 07-11-2007

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

I have a Speedtouch 780WL and the Service Configuration settings are as follows:
Service Configuration Settings
-----------------------------------------
Registrar: sip.plus.net
Registrar Port: 5060
Proxy: natproxy.plus.net
Proxy Port: 5082
Expire Time: 3600
It should work the same on your router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

Ok looks like I have a faulty voip part. I just tried with freespeech.co.uk (their suggested provider) and get the same problems.
I also connected the phone to the pstn port and nothing there either, no dial tone etc.
I have contacted them and await their reply.
RichSmol
Grafter
Posts: 709
Registered: 29-10-2007

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

Might be an idea to check that you've got the latest firmware running - despite buying it new it could have an old firmware on it. Some of the earlier firmwares have been known to have problems with NAT traversal which cause the device to be flakey at best on some SIP platform architectures. Thats definitely been the case for a few other Speedtouch users on this forum and Gradwell have kindly forced the device to connect to a different instance of their platform that didnt show the same behaviour. But saying all that - If your having the same problems with other sip platforms it might actually be firmware related or just a dead part!
Let me know if you want me to add you to our different platform instance, may or may not work but at least you can discount one thing which is usually a big help in the voip setup jungle!
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: 10-06-2007

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

check your pm box
digi dave always use's the latest firmware so dont change it please
Toolbox telephony Service Configuration line 1
configure
Sip URI =account number
Username= account number
Password= voip password
Confirm=voip password
Disply name=leave blank
Abbreviated number=leave blank
Expert config
Registrar=sip.plus.net
Registrar Port=5060
Proxy=natproxy.plus.net
Proxy Port=5082
Expire time=3600
Apply
Go back to configure and put a tick in Enable Telephony  job done
puddy
sorry for the delay been quite ill for a couple days so not been using my computer
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,529
Thanks: 186
Fixes: 12
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Help with a Speedtouch 716 and voip

I have double checked all the above and Liam at digidave says he will send me another router as this one doesn't work on voip, which I why I purchased it.