cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Hi All
        Is anyone out there using a Cisco 7975, if yes what Firmware are you using.
I am using SIP75.8-5-4S but having stability issues with the phone randomly rebooting and the SIP stack freezing by not accepting "Invite" messages.
Any advise on a known stable 7975 Firmware (not 7960) that is interoperable with Plusnet/Gradwell/Asterisk would be much appreciated.
Greg
16 REPLIES
knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Have been using SIP75.9-2-3S for a while and it's been stable.
Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Thanks knowdice but I can't find 9-2-3S as an available download on the cisco support site?
I can only find 9.2(3) detailed as:
7975 SIP IP Phone load - Compatible CUCM Versions: 5.1.3, 6.0.1, 6.1.3, 6.1.4, 7.0.2, 7.1.2 and above
file-name: cmterm-7975-sip.9-2-3.cop.sgn
05-DEC-2011
6.17 MB
Here is a complete list of  SIP v.9 firmware for the 7975:
9.3(1)
9.3(1)SR1
9.2(3)
9.2(1)SR2
9.2(1)
9.1(1)SR1
9.0(3)
9.0(2)SR2
9.0(2)SR1
knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Hi Shaggy,
The file I have is cmterm-7975-sip.9-2-3.zip but the "Loads" file included is SIP75.9-2-3S.loads  (29/11/2011 02:22)
So it looks like you have found the correct file. I also had stability problems with earlier versions.
You will need to add:
<transportLayerProtocol>2</transportLayerProtocol>
To use UDP rather than TCP
Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Great thank you Ill give it a go later today and let you know how I get on..
Just whilst we are on the topic of using a 7975 how do you get around the NAT issue with this Phone?
Currently I am using Port Forwarding on the DSL Router for the RTP UDP Ports and SIP Signalling Ports in addition I placed the IP Phone in the DMZ.
Also I added my Static IP Address to the NAT Address and activated NAT in the SEP<MAC>.cnf.xml file
I would be very interested to hear how to get around NAT.
Shaggy
knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

I have it on a public IP... Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Quote
Just whilst we are on the topic of using a 7975 how do you get around the NAT issue with this Phone?

Can it not be configured to use the outbound proxy ? ( nat.plus.net:5082 ) That should eliminate any NAT issues
Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Never really understood how nat.plus.net:5082 is working to help traverse NAT?
Does it rewrite the SIP Header from the Phone to add in the Route the Public IP address of DSL Router?
Shaggy
knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

I just never found using NAT 100% reliable and having some "spare" public addresses was an easy way out...
A few papers out there if you are interested [random choice] - http://insa.comm.ccu.edu.tw/moe/reference/16_nattraversalinsip.pdf
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Quote
Never really understood how nat.plus.net:5082 is working to help traverse NAT?

Using the proxy means that a continuous connection is maintained between your local IP and the proxy, through your router NAT firewall. Hence any need for port forwarding etc is removed. 
Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Well the plot thickens, I've upgraded to SIP75.9-2-3 and have mirrored the IP Phone port to my lappie running wireshark and now the phone isnt attempting to Register with the Proxy at all and the Phone is stuck displaying "Registering" with the spinning clock..
I looked at the SEP<mac>.cnf.xml (which incidentally works fine with 8.5.4!) and although under <sipLines> I have configured in <line button = "1"> both the <proxy>sip.plus.net</proxy> and <port>5060</port> when I interrogate the IP Phone Settings>Device Configuration>SIP Configuration>Line Settings>Line 1 the Proxy Address is correct as sip.plus.net but the Port is missing/blank the same for Line 2?
As I cant see any Register activity something seems to be breaking the ability of the Phone to even attempt to Register with the Proxy, perhaps its the missing Port 5060 on Line 1?
It would be nice to get hold of a working SIP<mac>.cnf.xml (obviously with edited out auth credentials) so I can re-edit a known working file with my credentials to prove if it is my SIP<mac>.cnf.xml that is breaking the Phones ability to register / ignoring the <port>5060</port> setting in the <line button = "1"> ?
Shaggy
knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

A few more pointers before posting the complete file...this is for Gradwell but should be the same for Plusnet with name change...
Under <sipLines> section:
Button 1 note use of USECALLMANAGER
Button 6 is a "quick dial"
<sipLines>
      <line button="1">
        <featureID>9</featureID>
        <featureLabel>12345</featureLabel>
        <name>xxx</name>
        <displayName>xxx</displayName>
        <contact>yyy</contact>
        <proxy>USECALLMANAGER</proxy>
        <port>5060</port>
        <autoAnswer>
          <autoAnswerEnabled>2</autoAnswerEnabled>
        </autoAnswer>
        <callWaiting>3</callWaiting>
        <authName>xxx</authName>
        <authPassword>password</authPassword>
        <sharedLine>false</sharedLine>
        <messageWaitingLampPolicy>1</messageWaitingLampPolicy>
        <messagesNumber>*1</messagesNumber>
        <ringSettingIdle>4</ringSettingIdle>
        <ringSettingActive>5</ringSettingActive>
        <forwardCallInfoDisplay>
          <callerName>true</callerName>
          <callerNumber>true</callerNumber>
          <redirectedNumber>true</redirectedNumber>
          <dialedNumber>true</dialedNumber>
        </forwardCallInfoDisplay>
      </line>
        <line button="6">
        <featureID>2</featureID>
        <featureLabel>Label</featureLabel>
        <speedDialNumber>Number</speedDialNumber>
        <featureOptionMask>1</featureOptionMask>
      </line>
</sipLine
Under <device> <devicepool> <callManagerGroup>
<callManagerGroup>
      <tftpDefault>true</tftpDefault>
      <members>
        <member priority="0">
          <callManager>
            <ports>
              <ethernetPhonePort>2000</ethernetPhonePort>
              <sipPort>5060</sipPort>
              <securedSipPort>5061</securedSipPort>
            </ports>
            <processNodeName>sip.gradwell.net</processNodeName>
          </callManager>
</member>
  </members>
    </callManagerGroup>
And under <device> section
<transportLayerProtocol>2</transportLayerProtocol>
to force use of UDP
Hope this works for you...
Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Brilliant!!  Cheesy
In Line 1 / 2  had <proxy>sip.plus.net</proxy>, changing this to <proxy>USECALLMANAGER</proxy> immediately caused the Phone to start sending SIP REGISTRATION messages to Gradwell so thank you knowdice!! I would have been trawling the net for months to figure that one out..
In terms of NAT Ive got a Static Public Address from Plusnet so Ive enabled NAT and detailed the Public IP Address in the SEP<mac>.cnf.xml also set-up port forwarding on the router for RTP and UDP 5060-5061 to the IP Phones static LAN address which seems to work fine.
The last thing I did in the early hours of this morning was upgrade the Phone Firmware to SIP75.9-3-1-1S any idea if this is stable / issues with Gradwell Asterisk?
Thanks again
Shaggy

knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Glad to help  Smiley
Only problem with using the USECALLMANAGER method is that you can only use one SIP provider, which is not a problem for me.
I haven't tried 9.3.1 yet
Shaggy
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 24-04-2008

Re: Cisco 7975 "Stable" Firmware ??

Arrrrhh the Phone just randomly Reset which is the stability issue I've had through the earlier releases of Firmware, so Ill down grade it to SIP75.9-2-3 and see if that's the same..
Do you know if there is anyway to pull a log out of the phone to see why its randomly resetting?
Shaggy