cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Make out going calls but not incoming

taras
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: 22-08-2008

Can Make out going calls but not incoming

I was just checking the voip on my nokia e7 (config file copied from my old nokia e75 - which worked). with imcoming calls being diverted to pn's answerphone ...
Any ideas whats wrong..
Equipment ..
tg585 v7  firmware 7.4.4.7
Nokia e7
9 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,718
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 31
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

@ taras
I'm just looking into this with a colleague now. We'll get back to you ASAP.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
taras
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: 22-08-2008

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

Thanks for that.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

Check that the outbound proxy  ( nat.plus.net:5082 ) is correct in your configuration.
Does the voip control panel show your e7 as registered ?
taras
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: 22-08-2008

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

signed out and then back in and its working Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

I'm seeing the same thing - I can make outgoing calls but incoming after a delay are diverted to voicemail.
VoIP control panel status says:
natproxy, expires at 2011-12-14 19:20:01, logged into v-sip-1
NAT: 8518059 on v-nat-proxy-1 from 80.229.?.??? (???.plus.com), internal IP 80.229.?.???, until 2011-12-14 19:12:22

Closed and restarted X-Lite 4 and all is well.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

Can you check your router logs to see if the incoming call was blocked by the firewall.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

@jelv,
Does the Internal IP still show the same after your restart of X-Lite. I always thought that on a NAT connection via the proxy, the internal IP shows as your private IP. However I've just looked at my account and I've got an old connection still showing from the weekend using my netbook at my daughters house which show her public IP as the internal IP. At home I don't need to use the proxy since my router(2700HGV) has a full SIP UA and therefore keeps a route open through the firewall for incoming calls.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

I tried calling my number several times - all went to voicemail. Restarted X-Lite and it immediately worked. I can't see how that can be a firewall issue - and there's nothing in the firewall log (or the router log).
The IP I masked out was my fixed IP - it has always says that, and is still saying that now it has started working again.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can Make out going calls but not incoming

It sounds like the connection between X-Lite and the proxy had died. Normally it's maintained with 'keep-alive' packets so that there is a NAT session open on your router to allow the incoming call to get through. If the connection times out, then when the proxy tries to send the SIP INVITE for the incoming call, it can't get through your firewall. Restarting X-Lite will re-establish the connection to the proxy.
Given that taras also had a similar problem, maybe it's a glitch on gradwell's proxy?.