cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Voyager 2500V setup help

fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: 05-04-2007

BT Voyager 2500V setup help

I am tying to setup the VOIP on the BT Voyager 2500V router
sip settings
SIP configuration:
Interface name: ppp_0_38_1
SIP transport protocol(TCP=6,UDP=17): 17
SIP transport port: 5060
SIP Registrar address: sip2.plus.net
SIP Registrar port: 5060
SIP Outbound Proxy address: sip2.plus.net
SIP Outbound Proxy port: 5060
SIP Proxy address: nat.plus.net
SIP Proxy port: 5082
Phone1 --  number:6810***      caller name:6810***    user name:6810*** password:********
Phone2 --  number:      caller name:    user name:      password:
Preferred codec: G729
Country Profile(US=1 EU=2 UK=3 NL=4 FR=5 SW=6 SE=7 BE=8 JP=9 CN=10 FI=11 GE=12 N
Z=18 AU=19) : 3
PSTN line prefix: 5
Each digit timer : 5
Timeout of .T: 2
I can not call out, but can call in.
Please help.
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

I think you might have these the wrong way round
Quote
SIP Outbound Proxy address: sip2.plus.net
SIP Outbound Proxy port: 5060
SIP Proxy address: nat.plus.net
SIP Proxy port: 5082

Should be
SIP Outbound Proxy address: nat.plus.net
SIP Outbound Proxy port: 5082
SIP Proxy address: sip.plus.net
SIP Proxy port: 5060
Oh , and you might want to change all your sip2.plus.net to sip.plus.net and the nat.plus.net to natproxy.plus.net.

fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

I have change the setting to

SIP Registrar address: sip.plus.net
SIP Registrar port: 5060
SIP Outbound Proxy address: natproxy.plus.net
SIP Outbound Proxy port: 5082
SIP Proxy address: sip.plus.net
SIP Proxy port: 5060
and now have a dialling tone, but phone on the other end don't ring
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

Thats odd.
I presume youv'e seen this guide http://www.puzbie.co.uk/php/home1024.php?page=2500v1
Does the 2500v web interface show the voip as active ?
Can you call the test number , is it 7000 ( or is it something different now I cant remember ) ?
I remember playing with a Voyager 10v a while ago and it had some logging you could turn on from the telnet interface. Does the 2500v have anything similar , that might help .
You could also experiment with putting your DDI number into either the Phone1 --  number & OR caller name fields.
Hope that helps. Post back with any results.
fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

Yes i have used http://www.puzbie.co.uk/php/home1024.php?page=2500v1 as a guide
Phone 1: Active. You can make calls over Broadband.
Your Broadband phone number is 6810130. .
test number (700) not work
yes i am using telnet to change the VOIP settings
Have have changed the caller name to DDI number
still not working!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

You might try changing the preferred codec
Quote
voice set prefcodec             
-  set the preferred codec (auto, G711U, G711A, G723, G726, G729)

Try setting it to auto.
Failing that , what exactly happens when trying to dial a PSTN number , e.g do you hear a ring tone ?
Does the 2500v have a dial plan ? and is it blocking 01 numbers going out on voip ? ( it may well be blocking the 7000 ! )
Sorry I cant be more specific but I havent used one of these , I'm just working from experience of other voip equipment.
fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

The VOIP router is now working, thank you  Smiley
Colin1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

Assuming that previous entries on this thread means it's possible to set up the Voyager 2500v to work with VoIP ... could those with more wisdom that I please help!
I've upgraded the firmware on my 2500v to version 3.30d.c which has removed the locking - normal internet operation is working fine.
Using Telnet I've changed the voice settings as follows:
Interface name: ppp_0_38_1
SIP transport protocol(TCP=6,UDP=17): 17
SIP transport port: 5060
SIP Registrar address: sip.plus.net
SIP Registrar port: 5060
SIP Outbound Proxy address: natproxy.plus.net
SIP Outboud Proxy port: 5082
SIP Proxy address: sip.plus.net
SIP Proxy port: 5060
Phone1 -- number : 01202xxxxxx  caller name:01202xxxxxx  user name:813xxxx  password:xxxxxxxx
Preferred codec: G729
Country Profile < xxxx> : 3
PSTN line prefix: 5
Timeout of .T:2
The settings seem to be those everyone else has used so I'm wondering if there's a different firmware I should be using ... or some other settings ... because when I try to connect I'm presented with a screen that shows my 01202number and a password. If I connect using this I get a message "Broadband Phone Service registration has failed". I cannot change the 01202 number to my SIP Id (if that's needed anyway)  - it says it's an invalid number.
Any ideas ... please!?
Colin
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

I'm pretty sure from the previous pots that you ned to set the phone number to your SIP id.
You need to Telnet into the router and set the information using the CLI , then it should accept anything.
Check the puzbie guide referred to in the other post.
fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

my setting
VOYAGER2500V SIP CLUB
Software Version: 3.30d.c
Login name: admin
Password:
> voice show
SIP configuration:
Interface name: ppp_0_38_1
SIP transport protocol(TCP=6,UDP=17): 17
SIP transport port: 5060
SIP Registrar address: sip.plus.net
SIP Registrar port: 5060
SIP Outbound Proxy address: natproxy.plus.net
SIP Outbound Proxy port: 5082
SIP Proxy address: sip.plus.net
SIP Proxy port: 5060
Phone1 --  number:681****      caller name:681****    user name:681**** password:********
Phone2 --  number:      caller name:    user name:      password:
Preferred codec: G711A
Country Profile(US=1 EU=2 UK=3 NL=4 FR=5 SW=6 SE=7 BE=8 JP=9 CN=10 FI=11 GE=12 N
Z=18 AU=19) : 3
PSTN line prefix: 5
Each digit timer : 5
Timeout of .T: 2
============================
>
Colin1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

Thanks fistsbs,
It was the codec that needed changing from G729 to G711A - then it accepted the 7 digit SIP ID rather than complaining that the number was not a valid phone number length.
I think it's all working fine ... assistance much appreciated!
Regards, Colin
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT Voyager 2500V setup help

@colin1,
Glad you managed to get it working with fistsbs's help.
Sorry about not suggesting the codec earlier , I dont think I had my brain in gear on my earlier post Roll eyes
I didnt even spot that you were already using Telnet  Embarrassed, maybe it was
Quote
because when I try to connect I'm presented with a screen that shows my 01202number and a password.
that threw me
Memo to self:- must read posts more thoroughly  before replying Roll eyes