Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone tried connecting to VoIP with Nokia N95

farrin
Grafter

Anyone tried connecting to VoIP with Nokia N95

hi folks
I'm very new to playing around with the VoIP and only set up X-Lite last night which all seems to connect OK although I've not had a good play to see if it actually works. Looking through the manual of my nokia N95 it appears that can be used as a VoIP handset.
I can connect the N95 to my Wifi network and browse the internet from it but so far haven't managed to get it to work with VoIP. The phone finds my wifi network OK but then says it can't connect to the SIP connection. I'm assuming it is possible but has anyone else tried and if so did you get it working. I'd be interested in how you set things up if you did.
Thanks
Simeon
22 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 62

Re: Anyone tried connecting to VoIP with Nokia N95

What router do you have?
My Gradwell account works perfectly via my Nokia handset. having said this, my luck with various SIP accounts and routers has been variable. As an example I'm testing a D-Link router at the moment and whilst my phone will connect wirelessly, it won't register (despite exactly the same settings working fine on another router).
Sometimes one provider will work and another won't. You then change your router and the opposite applies. It really is touch and go in my experience.
Take a look here.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

farrin
Grafter

Hi Bob
I've got a Netgear 834DG (version 1). I've printed off the details from your link and will have another go tonight (not near the router at the moment) and report back.
Cheers
Simeon
[Moderator's note by Barry Zubel: Removed quote of preceeding post as per the link:rules]
farrin
Grafter

Oh well I tried with the settings as per your link but to no avail - comes up with something along the lines of "unable to connect to the SIP connection".