cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A VOIP newby has a BT Voyager 220v

loungehake
Dabbler

A VOIP newby has a BT Voyager 220v

I have a BT Voyager 220v which has a VOIP capability.  Can this device be used in conjunction with PlusNet Broadband Phone?  I have unlocked it from BT only.
I am a complete newby as far as VOIP is concerned.  So low am I on the learning curve that I am looking up a steep very tall cliff face.
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 40

Re: A VOIP newby has a BT Voyager 220v

First question , do you actually have a Broadband phone account ? as new accounts are not available now to residential customers.
Assuming you do have one then have a look at this thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php?topic=1329.0
The information in there is a bit old and has changed since the service was hosted by Gradwell but the princple of configuring the 220v is the same.
As to the information that has changed
registrar should be sip.plus.net:5060
obproxy should be nat.plus.net:5082
proxy should ( probably! ) be sip.plus.net:5060
'Username' should be your 7 digit sip ID and 'password' your sip password.
Hope that helps.
Post back with any queries and do let us know if it works
loungehake
Dabbler

Thank you for responding.  I have a Broadband account from quite a while back.  Having been with PlusNet for eleven years, I have picked up a few products on the way.  I want to try VOIP for the sheer interest.
I will make use of the information you have kindly made available to me and put some feedback onto this thread.
Community Veteran

No problem, happy to help.
One thing though, I'm not sure how long VoIP accounts will stay active if not used.
PAYG accounts certainly lose the number if not used for a few months...
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

If they have credit they shouldn't expire surely?
Mind you mine is connected all the time but not actually used a lot.
Community Veteran