cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3CX Softphone

badbetty
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 25-09-2008

3CX Softphone

Hello folks
I wonder if anyone on the forum can help please; Plusnet Customer Support suggested I post here when I sent them a support ticket for configuration of a softphone I like to use. It is the 3CX softphone.  I have it working fine with Sipgate, but I am wanting to migrate to using Plusnet VOIP services.
I seem to get 'invalid pin' no matter what settings I enter (I am using all the correct plusnet details).
I have attached a config screen that I need to complete for plusnet - it is currently showing my Sipgate settings.
It would be appreciated if anyone of knowledge could let me know what I need to fill in where for Plusnet settings in this config.
Thank you for your interest if you have read this post.

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,249
Thanks: 428
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 3CX Softphone

Not familiar with 3CX but I'll give it a try.
Extension: Your PlusNet 7 digit Sip ID
ID : Your PlusNet 7 digit Sip ID
Password: Your PlusNet Sip password ( note that it can be different from your voip control panel password! )
IP of your PBX/Sip Server: sip.plus.net
Use Outbound Proxy : 'checked'
enter natproxy.plus.net:5082 in the Outbound proxy field
That should be the basic differences from the sipgate settings, you might need to disable STUN , possibly by blanking the STUN server field.

Give that lot a try and lets see how it goes...
Edit: corrected outbound proxy to add port
badbetty
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 25-09-2008

Re: 3CX Softphone

Thank you for the reply MisterW.
I have entered the details as given, but the message 'invalid pin' still shows up and it fails to register.
I have changed my VOIP 'password' just to be sure, but that has not worked either.  I'm confused as Sipgate is fine with it all.
I have noticed that when I am logged into my VOIP account on Plusnet site, I can click on 'extension' and it takes me to a page with all the details. One of these says 'sipserver' and the entry is: sip2.plus.net:5060.  Is this significant?
Also in the field 'device', there is no entry showing (and no way to enter one).
Not that it would make any difference I feel, but what is a STUN and does Plusnet have one?
Puzzling.......
Thank you again for you help.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,249
Thanks: 428
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 3CX Softphone

Quote
I have noticed that when I am logged into my VOIP account on Plusnet site, I can click on 'extension' and it takes me to a page with all the details. One of these says 'sipserver' and the entry is: sip2.plus.net:5060.  Is this significant?

Nope, that's what mine says, current sip & sip2 both resolve to the same ip.
Does the extension show as online ?
Is your PlusNet voip account a new one ?
If not does your sip id begin with a '4' if so try dropping the 4 and just use the last 6 digits.
Quote
Also in the field 'device', there is no entry showing (and no way to enter one)

I dont see a 'field device' , i have a 'sip device' , that will automatically get set when you successfully register
Quote
Not that it would make any difference I feel, but what is a STUN and does Plusnet have one?

PlusNet dont have a STUN ( Simple Traversal for UDP over NAT ) server, you dont need to use STUN with an Outbound Proxy.
badbetty
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 25-09-2008

Re: 3CX Softphone

MisterW you are a star !! Smiley
Dropping the '4' and using 6 digits dit it....well done.  If it were possible to share a pint online I'd buy you one.
Thank you again.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,249
Thanks: 428
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 3CX Softphone

Happy to help.
I must admit I thought that issue had been resolved and I was just clutching at straws, but obviously not...
dgp
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 12-07-2007

Re: 3CX Softphone

Thankyou MisterW!!!.  I've been struggling to get 3CX up and running on Plusnet since my old PC died.  Sipgate was fine, but I had forgotten  'Your PlusNet Sip password ( note that it can be different from your voip control panel password! )
3CX is pretty good, despite inability to import contacts.  Main plus is you can have several accounts and simple interface.