cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rDNS query

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,486
Thanks: 194
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

rDNS query

Hi all

Just thought I'd ask here before bothering support to find it can't be done! I was just wondering if PlusNet can change my rDNS to something like asdl.MyDomain.com, even though the domain is not hosted with them? If it can does anyone know what proof they need that the domain is mine? It has all the details in the whois for the domain as my details (name, address, phone) which is the same as what I have my account with PlusNet as?

Thanks

Phil
5 REPLIES
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

rDNS query

This can be done. It is exactly what I have done - adsl.liam-martin.co.uk

All you need to do is make a DNS entry pointing adsl.yourdomain.co.uk to your static IP address, wait for these changes to propogate the internet and then inform Plusnet of this.

The path through the Contact Us wizard you need to take is :

Technical Support > Static IPs, IP Block Requests and Reverse DNS Setup > Change my Reverse DNS (PTR) configuration

There you will find information on the necessary changes which you need to make, and be able to make the request for them to make the changes their side.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,486
Thanks: 194
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

rDNS query

Thanks a lot Liam


Phil
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

rDNS query

Would it be possible to have say :-

pc1.computers.subsonicsolutions.com pointing to 84.92.195.203
pc2.computers.subsonicsolutions.com pointing to 84.92.195.204
ect ect

as I have an IP block.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

rDNS query

I'm not sure about that. You could certainly direct pc1.domain.co.uk to an IP address easily, but I'm not sure if you can have an rDNS value for each one, how is it setup now?

I have adsl.liam-martin.co.uk and also radio.rockreview.co.uk both pointing to my IP. It's a simply case of just setting up the DNS values. However, only adsl.liam-martin.co.uk is my rDNS.
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

rDNS query

Well I have my router setup so it goes :-

84.92.195.203 --> 192.168.8.3
84.92.195.204 --> 192.168.8.4
ect ect