cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"copper routing on your line"

bmck
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 16-08-2007

"copper routing on your line"

I've recently reffered a colleauge to Plusnet. He's signed up, recieved his modem and has now been told:

"Unfortunatley there is no copper routing on your line so we are unable to provide a DSL service."

No further explanation. Would I be right in saying this terse message means he cannot have broadband with plusnet because his phone line isn't copper?

Linechecks are carried out before taking anyone on board so why would plusnet sign someone up then say he cannot have it?

:?
10 REPLIES
N/A

"copper routing on your line"

Possibly the BT checker (which most, if not all ISP's go off when taking an order) was not showing the correct information.

It's only when the BT engineer turns up to wire up ADSL and finds there is no copper left, and that all the phonelines use TPON (or fibre).

What does the bt checker http://www.bt.com/broadband come back with for his number?
bmck
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 16-08-2007

"copper routing on your line"

Thanks for the reply.

I followed your link and check my mates no. The BT checker says that the exchange is enabled and the line's ok - subject to further tests.

I find it hard to believe that he cannot have broadband. Whats the problem with fibre optic? Also - btw, what's TPON?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,653
Registered: 13-06-2007

"copper routing on your line"

TPON is Telephony over Passive Optical Networks it basically means that everything is done over fibre and not copper

Copper is needed for ADSL broadband because broadband technology is built around and can only be delivered on "Twisted Copper Pairs" you can find out more if you wish at: http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/equip.htm and http://www.adslguide.org.uk/howitworks/
N/A

"copper routing on your line"

If he contacts Bt Wholesale, they should tell him when his line is due for a copper overlay. I was in the same predicament until last year.
N/A

"copper routing on your line"

a relative had a similar problem (not with PN) a few years ago. His next door neighbour had DSL but he was told "you don't have copper" ! A few BT calls later he was up and running Cheesy
bmck
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 16-08-2007

"copper routing on your line"

Thanks very much for the help lads - I'll pass it on and see what happens.
bmck
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 16-08-2007

"copper routing on your line"

I forgot ot ask this earlier - but if "copper in the line" somewhere has stopped a broadband connection with plusnet - is is likely to stop other broadband providers?
N/A

"copper routing on your line"

You mean "No copper", and that means no ISP can serve you Broadband. As it is a physical cable issue. Between the exchange and the house termination point
bmck
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 16-08-2007

"copper routing on your line"

Thanks for that. It's not good news though. We'll have to go and bend BT's ear on this one I think.

Thanks again for all the input.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

"copper routing on your line"

You might want to read some of the posts in this forum:

http://bbs.adslguide.org.uk/postlist.php?Cat=&Board=btsupplier

Look for those about TPON or Warwick Gates.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)