cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

plusnet fix my connection

N/A

plusnet fix my connection

every week from wed onwards i cannot connect to the internet around 5.00pm and 6.00pm i get no dail tone when i eventually get on my connection has dropped from 1.5mb to 500kbps this lasts until i phone or cantact plusnet usually mon or tue the following week as if by magic my connection goes back up to 1.5mb then the spirral continues back to no connection then speed drop you have given me 2 free months but this not really any good if i cant actualy get on the internet could someone even contact me as ive spent 16mins then 8mins trying to phone you and just gave up i am really going to change to another isp as i would be better of on a 56k modem at least i would get what i pay for please fix this problem or even tell me what is the problem
here some speed tests
06-05-2007 12:05:56 123.8
05-05-2007 21:21:12 239.8
04-05-2007 20:15:45 234.7
04-05-2007 17:52:17 239.1
02-05-2007 15:27:31 1395.1
30-04-2007 21:14:12 1381.7
29-04-2007 17:42:40 1410.6
27-04-2007 20:08:23 1418.6
25-04-2007 19:36:49 1414.6
24-04-2007 19:57:48 1410.5
21-04-2007 20:32:46 128.4
21-04-2007 17:12:38 124.7
21-04-2007 14:29:55 126
21-04-2007 11:22:24 130.6
20-04-2007 20:25:00 125.7
20-04-2007 20:23:34 129.6
20-04-2007 15:14:24 128.3
19-04-2007 13:59:17 147.1
15-04-2007 17:57:49 1431.7
14-04-2007 20:19:44 1417.4
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

plusnet fix my connection

When you say no dial tone, is this with your router disconnected from the line. If so then that is a BT voice problem and you need to raise a voice fault via 151 - BUT do not mention ADSL when you report it. Get this fixed first then see if the speed problems remain.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

plusnet fix my connection

Is that no actual dial tone on the phone line or the error message you get when trying to connect. If you've no dial tone on the phone then as Peter suggests you need to report that as a voice fault.

If it's a no dial tone error message then it sounds like the modem is losing sync. If it's doing it regularly at the same day and time every week then I would suggest looking for something that happens at that time which could be causing interference. Could be anything from central heating to street lights or other types of lights or thousands of other things, but that's where I'd suggest to start looking.
N/A

re

no i have my modem connected to the telephone with a filter on it .its the message i get when connecting , when i try to connect to the internet message no dial tone after severals attempts and sometimes having to wait for a couple of hours before i get connected.i dont have a router.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

plusnet fix my connection

In which case I'd recommend taking a look through this to see if anything helps:

http://usertools.plus.net/tutorials/id/13

It sounds like something is causing interference which is causing the modem to lose sync with the exchange. Most common reasons involve incorrect or faulty wiring and filters. But because of the pattern it could be a number of other things.
N/A

plusnet fix my connection

If the message is no dial tone then that comes from a dialup connection not normally from a adsl connection. Do you have a 56k modem on the pc and do you have a dial up account setup on the pc?

If you do I would remove the modem and delete the dial up(recording the setting in case you need it) and see if that stops the problem. Do you by chance use AOL as if you logon to AOL it often changes the dialup to try and make you connect to its network.

Failing that there is something on the line like call minding/sky box.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

plusnet fix my connection

Quote
If the message is no dial tone then that comes from a dialup connection not normally from a adsl connection.
Not necessarily.
The BT Voyager 105, for instance, installs itself to look like a dialup connection; and in fact prompts for username and password using the same Windows dialogue as DUN.
So your broadband connection can easily look like a dialup one, and can throw misleading error messages.
So if mburs1 could maybe post which modem s/he's using ?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

plusnet fix my connection

Yep, the Speedtouch frog was a classic for giving no dial tone errors. Dial-up networking doesn't have an error for no sync so generates the closest to it.