cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

piper alarm filter?

westie
Dabbler

piper alarm filter?

i have a piper alarm system installed by local authority with pull cords in each room with control box in hall it is speaker phone one button only it is hardwired into bt master box the control box speaker phone has two connections a bt spade and block connector,my question is would a filter need fitting to the control box i cannot see it possible to fit at bt box as wire is internal any advice out there thanks
6 REPLIES
Bookman
Grafter

piper alarm filter?

Hello!
I'm not an expert, but while you are waiting for an expert to reply here is a bit of my own experience which might have some bearing on your problem.

I had an old BT box on the wall which had my router and main phone connected into its outlet in the usual way via a filter. But there was also an extension cable to another phone and this cable was hard-wired into the old box. There was a filter on the end of the extension.

When I had a BT engineer visit recently he said this was not ideal and he replaced the old box with a new one which has the name "ADSL V 1.0" on it. The extension is still hard-wired into this box but now does not need a filter. The new box has two outlets, one with a symbol for a phone and the other with a symbol for a computer - so the connections for phone and router/modem are obvious. But again, no filter is needed. The engineer told me that the box itself has an inbuilt filter.

The proof is in the pudding - I get very fast connection at over 6000 kbps.

So, if you had one of these new BT boxes to replace the old one you could probably have your control box hard-wired into it without any need for filters. Hope this info might help, and good luck whatever you do! Smiley
westie
Dabbler

piper alarm filter?