cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pings gone bad again??

N/A

pings gone bad again??

pings crappy again.

Tracing route to clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 68 ms 41 ms 83 ms pth-rb1.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.128.11]

3 96 ms 68 ms 83 ms pth-se2.telehouse.core.plus.net [212.159.1.3]
4 137 ms 124 ms 124 ms pth-gw0.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.129.21]

5 110 ms 55 ms 179 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.66.224.59]
6 27 ms 69 ms 82 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
7 69 ms 96 ms 206 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]


whats going on? is it just meHuh


--
Homerlovesbeer mmmmmmmmmm beer
8 REPLIES
fonejacker
Grafter
Posts: 382
Registered: 30-07-2007

RE: pings gone bad again??

Hi There,

We are certainly looking to nail this down as we have seen a few tickets regarding similiar issues.

What is your normal ping to the first hop:

68 ms 41 ms 83 ms pth-rb1.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.128.11] ?

Any delay at this hop is either within your exchange (Contention, Capacity or a problem) or in the ATM links that connect us to BT (Which are the pipes we recently upgraded).

We can ping you from here with great results, and we are certainly not aware of widespread problems like this. That said, we have had a few tickets of a similiar nature and we are keen to get to the bottom of these problems.

Do you have a copy of the traceroute when things are working fine?

Regards,

Ian Wild
PlusNet Customer Support
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

RE: pings gone bad again??

> pings crappy again.
>
> Tracing route to clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
> over a maximum of 30 hops:
>
> 1 * * * Request timed out.
> 2 68 ms 41 ms 83 ms pth-rb1.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.128.11]
>
> 3 96 ms 68 ms 83 ms pth-se2.telehouse.core.plus.net [212.159.1.3]
> 4 137 ms 124 ms 124 ms pth-gw0.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.129.21]
>
> 5 110 ms 55 ms 179 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.66.224.59]
> 6 27 ms 69 ms 82 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
> 7 69 ms 96 ms 206 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
>
>
> whats going on? is it just meHuh
>
>
>
> --
> Homerlovesbeer mmmmmmmmmm beer


Fine here using 1458 MTU and a low Rwin 17xxx's

30-45 pings on that and other UK traces

--
ADSL @ 288/576 Self Install
IRC.UTCHAT.COM
Usually in #utgames #UT2003chat
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

RE: pings gone bad again??


No probs here either (Birmingham).

Pinging 195.149.21.11 gave me average 19 ms.


Bill
N/A

RE: pings gone bad again??

Hi Ian,

Here is a tracert at 3am this morning.


Tracing route to clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms pth-rb1.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.128.11]

3 28 ms 14 ms 13 ms pth-se2.telehouse.core.plus.net [212.159.1.3]
4 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms pth-gw0.telehouse.core.plus.net [195.166.129.21]

5 14 ms 14 ms 27 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.66.224.59]
6 14 ms 14 ms 27 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
7 27 ms 14 ms 14 ms clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11]


Hope this helps mate.

Homerlovesbeer
N/A

RE: pings gone bad again??

Nope me neither, mines fine (touch wood)

1,195.166.128.11,26ms,pth-rb1.telehouse.core.plus.net,----
2,212.159.1.3,29ms,pth-se2.telehouse.core.plus.net,----
3,195.166.129.21,30ms,pth-gw0.telehouse.core.plus.net,----
4,212.159.1.65,35ms,atm.core.plus.net,----
5,212.159.15.250,35ms,vlan25.rhogan1.core.quay.plus.net,----
6,212.159.15.230,35ms,alteon1.core.quay.plus.net,----
7,212.159.8.137,34ms,portal.plus.net,----

N/A

RE: pings gone bad again??

guys understand this is an intermittant problem......doesn't happen all the time but when it does it sux Sad



--
Homerlovesbeer mmmmmmmmmm beer
fonejacker
Grafter
Posts: 382
Registered: 30-07-2007

RE: pings gone bad again??

Hi There,

As I say, if you are getting high pings on your first hop this is most likely to be a problem with your local exchange. All you can do about this is log exactly when it happens over the period of a couple of days. If you document the exact problem (Ie high ping to first hop) and raise a ticket with as much information as possible we will log this with BT. However, if the problem is your exchange then the chances are that BT will say either:

We can see this exchange is nearing capacity and we will schedule an exchange upgrade; or

We cannot find a fault.

Eitherway the chances are that you would experiance this with any ISP you were with, and that nobody is going to be able to fix it really quickly. Sorry to be a bit negative, but faults like this are the absolute worst to pin down. If you work with us though I'm sure we will be able to get to the bottom of it.

With Regards,

Ian Wild
PlusNet Customer Support
N/A

RE: pings gone bad again??

Thanks Ian,

Much appreciated info there. I'll continue to keep an eye on it and log it all on a ticket as it happens. As I game a bit it is frustrating, if I just used it for normal surfing then I wouldn't mind so much ....but then speed seems to be affected too occassionaly.

Ah well.....I hope BT fix it if it's them.

Cheers mate Smiley

Homerlovesbeer