cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modem query with windiows vista

N/A

i recently obtained a copy of vista and i checked my system with the vista upgrade advisor b4 installing and it informed me that my pci adsl Dynamode A220 modem will not work with vista, the questions i have r as follows and i appreaciate any info/input

will my pci modem ever work with vista ? is it just a case of waiting until there r vista drivers 4 my modem.
does pci adsl modems in general work with vista ?
if pci adsl modems dont work with vista wot do i need for a standalone pc... a router ? ( i have no knowledge about routers at all )

thx your help
12 REPLIES
N/A

Vista is of coarse brand new there are very few drivers for adsl modem and its anyones guess if they will ever be any drivers but probably not.

The way to go is a router as they are so cheap now and they offer extra security as the hide your ip from the rest of the world(your internal ip that is) They are independent of the O/S so it doesnt matter what O/S you use. When the worm was going about hardly anyone with a router was infected as their ip was hidden.

Any cheap router will do and give you the option of adding more pcs
N/A

thanx 4 your advice on my modem problem , if i cud trouble u a little more... can u have an internal router? or r they all external ? cud u or ne1 mention any gud routers that i shud consider thanx 4 your help
N/A

I have a Solwise router at home (I forget the model, but it's the one that Plus used to sell) and we use a Netgear DG834 at work.

Both have performed very well.
sam
Grafter

Hi electricwarrior,

I personally use a Netgear and I thinks its great, I have just got my Grandparents a D-Link and they have had no trouble at all.

I do think that this is personal preferance, but I have found that the better the brand the better the router, (I had a no-brand router once and had all sorts of problems)
Isitme
Grafter