cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

have to switch router on after PC to access net.

N/A

have to switch router on after PC to access net.

hi - this might sound like a dumb problem to all you network guru's Wink - I am currently connected through a router via a single Ethernet card.
Last night I switched my pc off but left the router (soulwise) switched on.
This morning I could not access any net services until I had switched the router on and off to reconnect.

I'm a bit new to all this and any info would be of great help.
7 REPLIES
benoh
Grafter

RE: have to switch router on after PC to access net.

> This morning I could not access any net services until I had switched the router on and off to reconnect.

Hi Martyn,
As per the Service status announcements @ http://portal.plus.net/supportpages.html?a=2

We made some significant upgrades to the DSL network early this morning and as such all connections were disconnected. Your router should of tried to reconnect on its own but some people have found they need to power cycle their router to get reconnected.

Ben O'Hara
Plusnet Technologies Ltd.
N/A

> > This morning I could not access any net services until I had switched the router on and off to reconnect.
>
> Hi Martyn,
> As per the Service status announcements @ http://portal.plus.net/supportpages.html?a=2
>
> We made some significant upgrades to the DSL network early this morning and as such all connections were disconnected. Your router should of tried to reconnect on its own but some people have found they need to power cycle their router to get reconnected.
>
> Ben O'Hara
> Plusnet Technologies Ltd.

ta Smiley
N/A

i get this sometimes the router says its connected and nothing come down . i have to power of and off sometimes to get it to connect properly.
N/A

Guys, you should *not* have to power cycle the router on a regular basis. If you really have to, there is something not quite right.
N/A