cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

broadband speed

Community Veteran
Fixes: 8

broadband speed

Can someone please advise me about my broadband speed.
Using the plusnet broadband speed checker my results have ranged from 71kbps to 907 kbps with an average figure of 470 kbps.

These tests have been carried out at various times during the day and on diffrent days. I also get the message that my speeds could be improved if I change settings on my computer but no indication is given about which settings.

I would welcome comments or advice on this... I am a newbie so please nothing to technical i.e. like altering registery settings.

Thank you
12 REPLIES
p_w_d_stone
Grafter

broadband speed

Can you have a read of this blog post to understand a bit about MaxDSL, how it works and troubleshooting.

Also perform a BT Speedtest (help here) and post the results here.

The line stats (SNR, attenuation) from your router will also help us diagnose the problem.
N/A

broadband speed

Sorry to barge my way into this topic, but I am also encountering odd speed problems.

I took this reading on the 21st June...

... and now my speed is this...

It's a very considerable difference in speed. I am also having problems connecting to my website's FTP server most of the day. I've touched nothing. I've checked my computer and used the fault checker, but there seems to be no explanation for it. Sad
p_w_d_stone
Grafter

broadband speed

@alantlud

Can you also post the information I requested earlier in the thread so we can help you troubleshoot.
Community Veteran

speedtester

I guess you will think I must be thick but I cant access speedtester.
It asks for my domain name.. Whats that ?
I have put in my user name and tried my password used to access plus net. It accepts neither saying they are both incorrect.

Please confirm what they mean by domain name.

Thanks
Community Veteran

broadband speeds