cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

awefull bandwidth!!

N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

[edited by father of the son who posted this]
13 REPLIES
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

sorry about that was my son.

anyways as you can probly make out were currently having some problems with our bandwidth, dropping to half its normal levels (checked with plus.net and adslguide.com speed checkers) is this plus.net, or our end/exchange? anyone else having problems/?

[edit] heres the spead checks

26-07-2004 23:53:24 231.2
26-07-2004 23:41:15 154.9
26-07-2004 23:32:33 216.8
21-05-2004 16:51:32 473.6
18-05-2004 10:32:06 439.1
22-11-2003 22:19:18 421.1
06-11-2003 10:38:11 445.3
25-10-2003 09:41:36 457.1
23-10-2003 18:57:28 359.5
17-10-2003 20:39:21 463.5
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

you made sure no P2P programs are running?
got a firewall to check inbound / outbound connections?
FTPd running?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

awefull bandwidth!!

What exchange are you on?

Have you checked the usertools exchange checker to see if your exchange has capacility limits or not. http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/

Have you gone trough the troubleshooting tutorials and troubleshooting help & support pages:

ADSL: Trouble Shooting

ADSL: Wiring and Filters

http://portal.plus.net/support/adsl/adsl_problems.shtml

If non of those help, you can raise a contact us ticket and supply additional information. Click on contact us (under help and support) -> new query -> connection problems -> Broadband ADSL -> Report an ADSL speed problem -> Report a speed problem with your ADSL connection

Then follow the instructions given.
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

the exchange appears to be ok according to your test tool,

the ONLY change that has been made is an upgrade from windows ME to windows XP and the use of the XP firewall - but even disabling this does not make any change to the loss of 50% bandwidth.

No there are no p2p software running, the only software that is loaded is this:

Norton Systemworks
Steam (games client)
Windows XP + all mod cons

as of current were running a pretty bare bones system.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

awefull bandwidth!!

What ADSL hardware are you using? If USB, have you tried uninstalling & reinstalling the drivers.

Have you tried changing your MTU value - see MTU tweak

Can you post 10 mins running WinMTR to www.mirror.ac.uk

Have you tried the BT speedtester: ADSL: Using BT’s Speed tester service and does that give the same speed results as your other tests (this tests only within BT's network). If this is slow then it may not have anything to do with PlusNet.

If none of that helps and you have checked your local wiring, tried connecting your modem to the BT master socket, removed all other phones, gone through the troubleshooting gudes then you need to raise a contact us ticket and get plusnet to check your line via the route I explained earlier.
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

BT thing = normal bandwith

MTU = still trying to fathom out what it all means

and WinMTR, what do i put in the host thing? the www.mirror.ac.uk ? becuase that doesnt work.

The hardware = 3 PCs with network cards linked to a ConExant Adsl router. The LAN drivers are ok.

sorry for all this trouble, complete novice at this
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

ok using a link found in the MTU thread i got these results ::

upload speed: 415.78
Downspeed : 214.56

this seems to the problem, my down speed is rubbish. mmmmm and heres some results from the WinMTR thing (connecting to plus.net)

<html><head><title>WinMTR Statistics</title></head><body bgcolor="white">
<center><h2>WinMTR statistics</h2></center>
<p align="center"> <table border="1" align="center">
<tr><td>Host</td> <td>%</td> <td>Sent</td> <td>Recv</td> <td>Best</td> <td>Avrg</td> <td>Wrst</td> <td>Last</td></tr>
<tr><td>No response from host</td> <td> 100</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 0</td> <td> 0</td> <td> 0</td> <td> 0</td> <td> 0</td></tr>
<tr><td>lo1.plusnet.pth-ag2.plus.net</td> <td> 1</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 196</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 322</td> <td> 890</td> <td> 297</td></tr>
<tr><td>gi1-2.vlan3.pth-gw4.plus.net</td> <td> 0</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 316</td> <td> 797</td> <td> 156</td></tr>
<tr><td>gi5-0-22.pth-gw2.plus.net</td> <td> 2</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 195</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 298</td> <td> 828</td> <td> 31</td></tr>
<tr><td>atm0-1-0.ptb-gw1.plus.net</td> <td> 0</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 332</td> <td>1391</td> <td>1391</td></tr>
<tr><td>vl4.pri.ptb-gw3.plus.net</td> <td> 2</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 194</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 326</td> <td> 781</td> <td> 718</td></tr>
<tr><td>if2.ptb-al1.plus.net</td> <td> 2</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 195</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 331</td> <td> 766</td> <td> 657</td></tr>
<tr><td>portal.plus.net</td> <td> 1</td> <td> 197</td> <td> 196</td> <td> 15</td> <td> 328</td> <td> 859</td> <td> 547</td></tr>
</table></body></html>
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

awefull bandwidth!!

You need to copy/paste the text output not html output from the tool. as this board does not suport HTML in posts. Also surround it with {code] {/code] replacing { with [

Also I think you have upload and download speeds confused. Upload is from your PC to the internet and cannot be higher than 256Kb/s (which is the max ADSL supports) and download is from internet to you PC which for a 512K connection should be above 460Kb/s and ideally around 480Kb/s.

www.mirror.ac.uk is what the host should be set to in WinMTR.
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

ok here we go
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 51 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| lo1.plusnet.pth-ag2.plus.net - 0 | 51 | 51 | 15 | 16 | 31 | 16 |
| gi1-2.vlan3.pth-gw4.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 16 | 32 | 16 |
| gi5-0-22.pth-gw2.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 16 | 31 | 16 |
| atm0-1-0.ptb-gw1.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 30 | 157 | 31 |
| vl4.pri.ptb-gw3.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 22 | 32 | 15 |
| if2.ptb-al1.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 22 | 32 | 16 |
| portal.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 24 | 32 | 32 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

awefull bandwidth!!

Quote
BT thing = normal bandwith

What do you mean by normal bandwidth. Post the figure it gives you please.

Quote
MTU = still trying to fathom out what it all means

Maximum Transmission Unit which controls how much data can be transmitted in each packet over the network. The MTU value must be the same in each PC (and have a corresponding RWIN value which is a windows configuratble parametr only) and the MTU must match what the router has. You use DrTCP to change the windows values and find the necessary setup page for your router. Both router and PCs must be rebooted after making the changes.

Typical values are:

MTU 1478 RWIN 17256 (which is what I use for my 512K ADSL connection)

MTU 1458 RWIN 17016

MTU 1430 RWIN 16680

RWIN is calculated as (MTU -40) * 12 where the 12 can be between 10 & 20.

Quote
and WinMTR, what do i put in the host thing? the www.mirror.ac.uk ? becuase that doesnt work.

That works for me and is the standard URL many people use. Try it again.


Also re-read my post above your MTR post as I have added some additional info at he same time you were posting.
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

says "cannot resolve host" when puttin in www.mirror.ac.uk

as for MTU just tlaked to the guy that orginally set up my broadband and he says that its set to automacially change or something, so wont be touching that.

as for the up/downspeeds , only qouting what the site said. www.numion.com

im gna post a ticket/query and see what plus says, thats for your help anyways mate.

something seems to be F-ed as it were
michaelscott
Grafter
Posts: 594
Registered: 09-08-2007

awefull bandwidth!!

Quote
The hardware = 3 PCs with network cards linked to a ConExant Adsl router. The LAN drivers are ok.

Disonnect all but one pc and do a speed test - other machines may have p2p software running.
N/A

awefull bandwidth!!

ok after a bit of slapping myself ive fixed it

i had been using dial-up for various reasons before upgrading to XP.

i had left the modem in a PCI slot, it was causing major classes with COM1 COM2 and PCI COmmunication Port Drivers. After removing everything seems fine.

why is it always some stupid little reason like that , cheers for your help anyways guys, owe you an e-beer

cheers

Dan Paul