cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

are these results ok for 2mb

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

PhysicalLinkStatus= Up
ReceiveAttenuation_dB= 44
I have tried to find out if the following results are ok to allow me to get 2mb connection. All i have found on =the web is that the top line should be 43 or less to get 2mb but that there is a margin of 5 or so if you already have bb installed as i do.

What do you think?

cheers,
Alan


ReceiveAttenuation_dB= 44
ReceiveMargin_dB= 28
RxOutputPower_dBm= 0
SendAttenuation_dB= 23
SendMargin_dB= 28
TotalBytesReceived= 11178919
TotalBytesSent= 949601
TotalPacketsReceived= 8394
TotalPacketsSent= 8394
TxOutputPower_dBm= 0
Uptime= 1585
ChannelMode= Fast
Layer1DownstreamMaxBitRate= 1152000
Layer1UpstreamMaxBitRate= 288000
WANAccessType= DSL
11 REPLIES
N/A

are these results ok for 2mb

Can I be cheeky and sneak in the same question about these figures of mine?? My free upgrade is well over due, and this wouldn't be a good time to have service problems! I'm guessing because of the 3rd line I might be OK...

STREAM STATISTICS                 DOWNSTREAM     UPSTREAM

----------------- ---------- --------
Data Path Type : FAST FAST
Current Bit Rate (kbit/s) : 576 288
Attainable Bit Rate (kbit/s) : 6400 757
Attenuation (dB) : 12 6
Noise Margin (dB) : 39 28
Output Power (dBm) : 18 10
N/A

are these results ok for 2mb

Hi there,

Enter your current line speed and downstream attenuation and snr into this calculator for a rough guide to the max your line will take.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

The current maximum Attenuation for a 2Mb line is 43dB. A high SNR value is good.

@amccle, it looks like your Attenuation is just above the current limit.

@pentron, looks like you're fine for 2Mb.
N/A

are these results ok for 2mb

Pcsni, the link doeas not work for me, says connection denied. Any ideas please?
N/A

are these results ok for 2mb

None tbh.

The url is http://www.farina1.com/calc.htm

Unless it is a firewall problem, though why I dont know. It was posted by saffy on AG.
mike001
Grafter
Posts: 393
Registered: 30-07-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

I am allready on 2megs with this
ADSL Link .................................. Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed.....................2272 kbps ..... 288 kbps
Line Attenuation..........................43db ............... 13 db
Noise Margin...............................13 db............... 28 db
N/A

are these results ok for 2mb

Thanks pcsni, that url worked fine.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

Upgrade went thorugh without a hitch I asked on thursday and it was proccessed by plusnet at once, gave them these details on friday and it was resubmitted and 1st thing Saturday the speed was at 2.2mb. NO line drops no loss of sync, perfect. Now all I've got to is get my Scenic to behave just as well!


Plusnet were excellent and they agree I was possably put on 1mb by BT in error.

Excellent job by plusnet I can't fault them.

A
daviez
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 05-08-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

The whole 2Mb thing is damned annoying!

My woosh test results came back from PlusNet/BT as:

Woosh test:
xDSL Status Check OK
Circuit Information
Circuit In Sync
Upstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 27 dB
Cell Count 1335407278
Downstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 44 dB
Cell Count 1143293216

But my upgrade from 1Mb to 2Mb was rejected.

As these are near-identical to amcclean, I don't understand why I'm being rejected, but he got through ok....Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

My re-grade was passed through to a team at plusnet who apparently deal with provisioning. I stated that my line was close to the 2mb standards required and that research on the web suggested that by merely having adsl currently on the ine the line attenutaion can differ but up to 5db each way.

My line had also gone line (sycn'ed) on the Wed not the Friday as stated and the increse occured on the Sat when the account was orriginally due to go live.

I don't know if you submitted your re-grade byphone or by ticket but I submitted my rquest by phone.

A
daviez
Grafter
Posts: 41
Registered: 05-08-2007

are these results ok for 2mb

I contacted PN re this and was advised to get in touch with BT via 151 to see if they could help. They tried a line test, but found an "odd problem" which suggested a noisy line. The issue was escalated to an engineer.

An engineer telephoned mid-Wednesday to advise he had found noise on the line and was switching us over to another copper pair, hopefully reducing noise, increasing quality and the chance of 2Mb. hurrah!

Got home Wed evening to find no ADSL at all. Doh!

PN and BT are now investigating why we have no ADSL at all. Have done all the usual stuff like unplugging all phones and trying in master socket etc, but no joy so far. Plugging a phone into the master socket WITHOUT a microfilter gives a clear sound - none of the normal ADSL crackle.

Anyone have ideas?