cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

access problems

kreynolds
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: 05-04-2007

access problems

Have a small problem that has got me puzzled.

Am using a solwise 130 router connected to netgear NIC, firewall NIS2003 and
routers own. Can send/receive email but have no net access. When I swapped connexions to my onboard NIC can access internet. However neither connexion will let me access the config screen for the router.

I have tried rebooting the router via console, which seems to work fine.

Anybody have any ideas.

TIA

Karl
9 REPLIES
pcorker
Grafter
Posts: 309
Registered: 05-09-2007

access problems

IE security settings too high? (just guessing!)
Pat.
N/A

access problems

If you can send and recieve mail, then the internet access is working. The fact that you cannot access the setup screen indicates the problem is a firewall one.
I would strongly suggest that it is Norton IS 2003. Do not just turn it off (the port controls are still active, even if the firewall is supposedly turned off), uninstall it completely and try again. When everything is working, then try installing NIS2003 again.
kreynolds
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: 05-04-2007

access problems

unistalled NIS have no connection at all, so seem that NIS has done 2 me what McAfee did. Ho hum Cry Comploete rinstall of windoxe again.

Thanks for the help
N/A

access problems

Yes, it looks as if NIS was the problem.
A windows recovery should do it rather than a clean install.
What did McAfee do Huh I have had McAfee firewall cut off my connection due to a problem with the NIC miniport driver.
I have found Zone Alarm to give the least problems as a software firewall.
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

access problems

Quote
I have found Zone Alarm to give the least problems as a software firewall.
Until you decide you no longer want it and it kills all your access.
N/A

access problems

Maybe so, but I have removed and reinstalled ZA on many machines with no problems, while curing a problem with Black Ice required a reinstall of the OS on one machine.
I have never liked Norton since persistent "sym386" errors on at least three machines also requiring OS reinstalls.
I could be a generic problem with software firewalls, where they install their own software "port" that all access passes through.
pcorker
Grafter
Posts: 309
Registered: 05-09-2007

access problems

ZA website has a list of possible "leftovers" to remove manually after an uninstall. (Finding info specific to your ZA version no. is tricky!)
Pat.
N/A

access problems

Norton provide a tool for removing all the left-overs of NIS2003.

See link:

HERE

[Moderator's note (by acarr): Cleaned up URL]
kreynolds
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: 05-04-2007

access problems

just reinstalled windoze again :?
now microsoft say my product key is invalid Sad

Still better than BSOD