cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wiring problems

N/A

Wiring problems

At work so can't check the wiring as yet but ...

Yes, the Argos extension is connected to the phone side of the filter ... and that's how I get sync ... I've given in trying to figure out why.

It's all working fine at the moment with the set-up I described:

Hardwire master to sideways extension.
Sideways extension with filter plugged in.
10m Modem cable into ADSL side of filter.
Argos extension to phone side of filter.
Main phone into Argos extension at socket side.

Good eh! Smiley
9 REPLIES
N/A

Wiring problems

I'm new to ADSL and am having all sorts of problems getting the modem to sync. I have had a chat with the lads at plusnet who are unable to give me advice on wiring so I'm hoping that someone here can help.

My problem is that I can only get sync when my modem is plugged into the master box via a filter ... any other configuration I try and I simply get nothing at all.

Bizarrely I have tried plugging directly into the master box using an adaptor to turn the RJ11 on the end of the modem cable into a BT431A for the telephone socket but nothing. Only when I use the filters provided can I get any level of sucess.

By way of further information, and bear with me on this as I'll go on for a bit:

I have something of an unusual set-up at home (courtesy of previous owners). Master socket goes into upstairs bedroom. There is a hardwired extension socket that runs down the back of the house into the dining room (below the master socket bedroom).

I then have an 'Argos' extension socket from master socket to bedroom 2 for my dial-up modem (extension 1)

I then have an 'Argos' extension from hardwired extension (in dining room) to living room for Sky Digital and Main Telephone (extension 2)

My setup is therefore:

Master Socket>Extension 1>Dial-Up Modem
Hardwired Extension>Extension 2>Double adapter>Sky TV & Main Phone