cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Networking

N/A

Wireless Networking

Im a bit of a wireless newbie at this so be gentle with me. Ive just got Adsl at home and want to share it around the various kids machines in the house. Currently got the horrible Binitone modem and want to go wireless. House contains 2 stand alone PC's and one laptop all running XP and all located upstairs (as is the phone point). Been looking at the Netgear DG834G, with the various wirless cards. As I said I am new to wireless (I have a wired network at work - where one machine connects to the adsl modem and the others feed through a network switch) My question is does the the DG834G just attach from the adsl splitter and then sit alone or does it have to be phyically connected to at least one machine and if this is the case does this machine have to be on before the other machines can access the DG834DG and thus the internet. In addition my three machines at work can all read each others hard drives (mapped) - does this happen automaticly with a wireless network - I dont want it to - I dont want the kids mucking up my work stuff on my machine ?

Thanks anyone
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Wireless Networking

You need at least 1 PC directly connected (via network card and cable) to the router in order to configure and update the firmware (firmware upgrades via wireless are not recommended by the manufacturer).

The DG834G is a stand alone unit which is always connected to the internet, regardless of any of your PCs being on. This means your PC does not need to be on for the router to work and thus remote systems to access the Internet at any time. It just connects to your BT socket via the ADSL filter/splitter and runs on it's own.

Any PC on the network (wired or wireless) could have access to any other PC's disk if it is configured to do so. All you need to do is not run file and print sharing on your PC to stop the others accessing it.

Cheers