cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What speed should I get?

marchino
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 31-07-2007

What speed should I get?

Hi

I have been on the 21.99 premier package for nearly two years getting 512k, recently my local exchange was upgraded by BT and I now have a service that is showing 1Mb on speed tests.

I thought I should have got a 2Mb service, but on checking the BT line checker it says I can only get the 1Mb service, I have looked at the stats from my Vigor and it is showing the following:
SNR Margin: 27
Loop Att: 36.5

The question is, should I be able to get the 2Mb service, the guy next door to me is getting 2Mb from BT Yahoo.

Thanks.
10 REPLIES
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

What speed should I get?

It's the downstream figures that count, not the upstream.
It's not clear which your figures are.

If they are downstream, then you should be good for 2Mb easily

Your router should show what speed you are synching at, which will be 2200 ish for 2Mb, or half that for 1Mb.

If your figures are downstream, and you are only synching at 1Mb, then I'd ring Pn and ask them to get BT to put it on 2Mb instead. Pn can confirm the figures with a woosh test.
N/A

What speed should I get?

I've just closed a ticket I had with PlusNet about this.

I have just gone from 512K to 1Mb (on a premier account) and thought I should be 2Mb aswell - BT site says my line will only handle up to 1Mb

Can BT do anything about this?
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

What speed should I get?

The BT site says I can only get 512k, or possibly 1Mb after an engineer visit., but I've got 2Mb with no engineer in sight.

The site is not always right, and especially if your figures are really good, PN can ask BT to set the speed to what it should be.
marchino
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 31-07-2007

What speed should I get?

Not sure is those figures are for down or upstream, doesn't say on the Vigor stats page.

Presume I will just call PN get them to test, etc.
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

What speed should I get?

Good idea.
A woosh test will tell you one way or the other.
Ask them to do both attenuation and SNR as they are both relevant.
marchino
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 31-07-2007

What speed should I get?

Just called PN. Guy told me 2Mb could not be provided, he read off the usual quote from the BT checker "...... due to the length of your line ......",I explained that may be incorrect, and gave him the figures from the Draytek Vigor. He told me to speak to BT, I asked which department, "just the general number", not too helpful I'm afraid. Might try calling PN support line again later.
marchino
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 31-07-2007

What speed should I get?

Here is some more info from the Vigor via a telnet session:

> adsl status
--------------------------- ATU-R Info (annex A) ----------------------------
Running Mode : G.DMT State : SHOWTIME
DS Actual Rate : 1152000 bps US Actual Rate : 288000 bps
DS maximum Rate : 8704000 bps US maximum Rate : 1152000 bps
DS Path Mode : Fast US Path Mode : Fast
NE Current Attenuation : 36.5 dB Cur SNR Margin : 26.0 dB
DS actual PSDM(C) : 00000007 US actual PSDM(R) : 00003e77
ADSL Firmware Version : 41e2be2c
-------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
Far Current Attenuation : 18.0 dB Far SNR Margin : 31.0 dB
CO ITU Version[0] : 00b55453 CO ITU Version[1] : 54430000
DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR : < TI >
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
N/A

What speed should I get?

Quote
Here is some more info from the Vigor via a telnet session:

> adsl status
--------------------------- ATU-R Info (annex A) ----------------------------
Running Mode : G.DMT State : SHOWTIME
DS Actual Rate : 1152000 bps US Actual Rate : 288000 bps
DS maximum Rate : 8704000 bps US maximum Rate : 1152000 bps
DS Path Mode : Fast US Path Mode : Fast
NE Current Attenuation : 36.5 dB Cur SNR Margin : 26.0 dB
DS actual PSDM(C) : 00000007 US actual PSDM(R) : 00003e77
ADSL Firmware Version : 41e2be2c
-------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
Far Current Attenuation : 18.0 dB Far SNR Margin : 31.0 dB
CO ITU Version[0] : 00b55453 CO ITU Version[1] : 54430000
DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR : < TI >
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------



Can you explain what all that means?

How do you identify what the max line speed is?
Alecto
Grafter
Posts: 2,886
Registered: 30-07-2007

What speed should I get?

@marchino
looks from that as though the figures you gave are Downstream, and with figures like these
NE Current Attenuation : 36.5 dB Cur SNR Margin : 26.0 dB
you should be able to get 2Mb and more.

You can't ring BT as they will tell yo9u to go through your ISP.

I'd ask Dave or one of the other Pn lads who come on here to look into it for you as unless your router is telling lies, they've put you on the wrong speed.
marchino
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 31-07-2007

What speed should I get?

Thanks for the advice Geoff.

How would I go about contacting one of the PN guys on here and would they be happy for me to do so?

Regards, Marchino