cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What does this mean?

N/A

What does this mean?

I have looked at the DSL parameters on my route with these results:


DSL Parameter
DSL Parameters and Status
Vendor ID: 0039
Revision Number: Y1.16.3
Serial Number: Solwise-271003d
Local Tx Power: 11.95 dB
Remote Tx Power: 15.41 dB
Local Line Atten.: 37.5 dB
Remote Line Atten.: 22.0 dB
Local SNR Margin: 28.0 dB
Self Test: Passed
DSL Standard: T1.413
Trellis Coding: Enable
Framing Structure: Framing-3

Config Data Up Down
Intrlvd Fast Intrlvd Fast
AS0(kbps): - - 0 1152
AS1(kbps): - - 0 0
LS0(kbps): 0 288 - -
LS1(kbps): 0 0 - -
RValue: 0 0 0 0
SValue: 1 1
DValue: 1 1

Copyright © 2001-2003 GlobespanVirata, Inc. All rights reserved.

I apologise for the formatting, but I cannot get it to dislpay neatly. Does this mean that BT have now upgraded me to 1M? Secondly from my parameters should I be able to get 2M? I have not received the email from PN telling me about the upgrade, and the speed check still says 530K. What action, if any should I take?
Thanks for your time.
19 REPLIES
hitachi
Grafter
Posts: 343
Registered: 05-04-2007

What does this mean?

Yes you are connected at 1M and yes you should be able to get 2M.
Give cs a ring or send a ticket with your stats and have a moan
N/A

What does this mean?

Thanks fletchdsl, raised a ticket, and got this reply in very quick time:

Quote
BT have upgraded you to the fastest speed your line cannot support.

Unfortunately without re-cabling from your house to the telephone exchange it is not possible to recieve this speed.

I am now on 1mb, however bearing in mind that my stats seem good for 2mb is there any action I can take to get it raised?
N/A

What does this mean?

You could ask PN to do a woosh test to see if that supports or tallies with the stats reported by your modem.

I have read on AG of occasions where mr saffron has been able to get BT to update their database where it has been incorrectly reporting a customers line stats.

Check out the woosh and let us know.
N/A

What does this mean?

Thanks Mark, I have now replied to my ticket asking for a woosh test. I will update and response here.

John
N/A

What does this mean?

This is the reply I got for my request for a woosh test, any comments?

Quote
Your router stats will state the same thing as a woosh, woosh tests are just for dsl fualts and cannot have them performed unless a fualt is evident due to the high volume of fualts we have to under go.

If BT has already attempted to regrade your line they will not perform this again free of charge, if you fee your line will support you can request this but will be charged at 14.99.
Regards,


Do you think it may be worth contacting Andrew on ADSL guide? See this:
http://bbs.adslguide.org.uk/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=general&Number=1983533&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=...


John
N/A

What does this mean?

Definately worth a go. It has worked for others.
cfroggett
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-07-2007

What does this mean?

Quote
Definately worth a go. It has worked for others.


So what does one need to do?

I currently have a request to plusnet for 2mb (pref 4mb) and they are saying that the line will only support 1mb, even though my neighbour has 2mb today (going to 4)!!! Very frustrating.
N/A

What does this mean?

BT checker for my line now says that it capable of 2mbs, so I have updated my ticket asking for that. I'll post their response here.
John
N/A

What does this mean?

Great news John. Hope it works out.

cfroggett

If you can post your modem / router line stats (if available) we may get an idea if your line will support 2mb. Unless those details are at varience with BT's data, you will just have to accept what they say.
cfroggett
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-07-2007

What does this mean?

Quote
Great news John. Hope it works out.

cfroggett

If you can post your modem / router line stats (if available) we may get an idea if your line will support 2mb. Unless those details are at varience with BT's data, you will just have to accept what they say.


Is this what you are looking for? From a LinkSys WAG54Gv2

DSL Status: UP
DSL Modulation Mode: GDMT
DSL Path Mode: FAST
Downstream Rate: 1152 Kbps
Upstream Rate: 288 Kbps
Downstream Margin: 2147483645 db
Upstream Margin: 24 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 56
Upstream Line Attenuation: 31
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0
Encapsulation: RFC 2364 PPPoA
Multiplexing: VC
Qos: UBR
Pcr Rate: 0
Scr Rate: 0
Autodetect: Disable
VPI: 0
VCI: 38
Enable: Yes
PVC Status: Applied

Any help appreciated!
N/A

What does this mean?

Quote
Downstream Line Attenuation: 56


With those figures it is unlikely that you will get 2mb.

BT are sticking hard and fast at the moment to less than 43. 1mb appears to be your limit, based on that.
N/A

What does this mean?

Well, I have asked PN to upgrade me to 2m, after all I thought we were getting free ugrades to 2m if our lines would take it. But no, they want the upgrade payment!
cfroggett
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-07-2007

What does this mean?

Quote
Quote
Downstream Line Attenuation: 56


With those figures it is unlikely that you will get 2mb.

BT are sticking hard and fast at the moment to less than 43. 1mb appears to be your limit, based on that.


what is line attenuation? can I do anything to improve it (new cabling or something less dramatic?)

(off to search google!)
N/A

What does this mean?

I am confused, BT have my line listed at 1MB, which is what PlusNet now have me connected to but my results are:

SNR Margin:
Downstream - 30 dB
Upstream - 31 dB

Line Attenuation:
Downstream - 25 dB
Upstream - 13 dB

Data Rate:
Downstream - 1152 kbps
Upstream - 288 kbps

Do you think this would be good enough for 2MB or maybe more?

If so what should I do to get it changed?