Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using two computers

Mark64uk
Grafter

Using two computers

Ok heres my problem

Im running a netgear DG834 (I think thats the model lol) anyways the computer downstairs the secondary computer seems to have problems running the internet, pages take ages to load and dont load at all in some cases als0 when you do get onto a page and try downloading you get speeds of 2 kbps.Now im not very good at this netowkring so im guessing that ive set something up wrong , althought i did find a good tutorial that someone posted on here and ive followed that. I was previously on wanadoo and i never seem to suffer from that problem before.

Any ideas

Mark
12 REPLIES
hillers
Grafter

Using two computers

Have you tried moving the computer downstairs closer as it could be a weak signal causing the trouble (if you using wireless). It might be that you need a signal booster.
Mark64uk
Grafter

Using two computers

Its a Wired Network Cheesy Thanks for the sugestion thought

Mark
N/A

cabling distance?

Hi Mark,

have you checked to make sure your second machine is within the cabling distance limits? Are you using CAT5 cables? or some other kind of cabling.

Ivan

--------------------------------------------------
F9 FOL Forum Moderator
F9 Broadband Premier 2MB User
Mark64uk
Grafter

Using two computers

Netowrking wise i think everythings ok as i ran this network on wanadoo for 12 months with no problems i migrated to PN last week and have only just noticed this on the other computer yesterday. Im no used to setting up the router with a static IP ad manually putting in the DNS servers it could be some conflict there ?

Mark
N/A

Using two computers

You could try swapping network cables to eliminate that as an issue?

Also try pinging the other machine or router to establish the quality of the connection.

Click on Start go to run, type CMD

You will get a command prompt

C:\Documents and Settings\blah blah blah>

Type: