cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB vs Ethernet Modems/Routers

N/A

USB vs Ethernet Modems/Routers

What is the difference (in operation/performance etc) between USB Modems and Ethernet Routers? If so, is the difference marginal or does it justify the additional cost?

Am I also right in thinking that the only purpose of a Router is to share ADSL to multiple PCs whereas a modem is obviously just for the PC it is
connected to?

Are there any other advantages to having a Router?

TIA
Andy
5 REPLIES
beskar
Grafter

RE: USB vs Ethernet Modems/Routers

Okay, I'm a newbie to this too, so bear that in mind... see my post to the previous user by the way.

All an ADSL modem can do is pass the data on to one PC.

ADSL Routers (which interestingly seems to mean 2 things: either a) a Router, which needs an ADSL Modem , or b) a Router/ADSL Modem combined) can do a number of things:

- primarily, to allow 2+ computers to share the ADSL bandwidth
- use NAT to hide a 2+ computers behind a private address, thereby making them more secure from public intrusion (e.g. your IP address of 212.159.111.222 is translated to e.g. 192.168.16.5, 192.168.16.6)
- have built-in firewall, to monitor/prevent further fiddling from outside
- if you don't have a static (fixed) ip address, some routers can team up with free IP services to allow your network to behave as though you do have a static address

(Someone else can add the more advance bits!)

HTH
N/A

> What is the difference (in operation/performance etc) between USB Modems and Ethernet Routers? If so, is the difference marginal or does it justify the additional cost?

Good Evening,

USB does use quite a lot of computing cycles, you are better with a PCI card if you have an older system. You will find that unless you know what you are doing a router will be harder to setup for port forwarded services.

Kind Regards

Duncan
--
| Duncan Scotland          Unmetered & ADSL solutions