cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB and dropped connections - a possibility?

thehatman
Grafter

Hi,

I'm upgrading from dialup to broadband and am thinking of buying the Speedtouch usb 330 modem. I've read a few things in the internet that suggest possible problems however.

1) Some people have mentioned that this modem takes too much power and sometimes drops the connection. How much power precisely does it take from the usb socket?

2) Also that there might be a problem with peer to peer uploading on programs like Kazaa which I do use.

My pc is a Dell Dimension 4300 running XP Home. Here are some specs for this PC if that's helpful. Please let me know if the Speedtouch 330 will be OK. I'm just using a single PC at home but I need a stable connection with no dropped outs and complete reliability. Will the Speedtouch 330 be OK with my system? Please give as full an answer as you can as I'm new to broadband. Thanks for your time.

Smiley

Motherboard

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID <DMI>
Motherboard Name Dell Computer Corporation Dimension 4300

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 100 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 400 MHz
Bandwidth 3200 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type SDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 133 MHz
Effective Clock 133 MHz
Bandwidth 1067 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel Hub Interface
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 267 MB/s

Memory

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Physical Memory:
Total 255 MB
Used 175 MB
Free 79 MB
Utilization 69 %

Swap Space:
Total 616 MB
Used 128 MB
Free 487 MB
Utilization 21 %

Virtual Memory:
Total 2047 MB
Used 104 MB
Free 1942 MB
Utilization 5 %
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran