cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total n00b needs advice -- USB modem or router?

N/A

Hi,

First of all, my apologies if this is covered elsewhere on the forums, and if so could you point me in the right direction please!

OK, my point is related to USB modems and routers. I keep seeing posts saying that USB modems often cause problems. I hope this isn't the case as I'm not even fully up and running on broadband yet, and many other posts claim that a router is the way to go.

As a complete beginner when it comes to broadband and it's related hardware I'm not sure what to do. I recently signed up for 512 ADSL and I intend to connect via my PC which is running on XP Pro (SP1). I assume I will recieve the Binatone ADSL 500 modem very soon, but now I'm wondering what my best option is. Do I go for a router? How much do these cost? I know that PlusNet are not so silly as to supply any of us with troublesome hardware though so maybe I'm appearing more panicky than neccesary, but I don't mind paying for a router later on if it's gonna be the better option at the end of the day.

If someone could give me some very basic advice in laymans terms and outline the differences, advantages, etc I would be very grateful. Once again, sorry if this is covered elsewhere.
5 REPLIES
N/A

For all sorts of reasons, I'd go for a router every time.
1) a decent router will also provide firewall capabilities - your first line of defence against nasties
2) it's the router that establishes the connection with the ISP, not the PC. So no more dialup on the PC. Just a "local area network" connection
3) a router will provide you with an Ethernet interface which you can expand to service loads of PCs. Some routers already come with 4 ethernet ports already.