cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This is now getting ridiculous !

Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

I have started a new thread because my other thread regarding this issue seems to be getting ignored.

Further to my last post when my speed dropped dramatically and i was told there must have been something that re sync'd my speed well guess what no sooner has my speed gone back up again it has dropped like a stone again, no prizes for guessing when this happened:

19-04-2007 11:00:15 127
19-04-2007 09:49:50 125.7
19-04-2007 09:48:37 106.6
19-04-2007 09:48:08 119
19-04-2007 09:47:41 125.1
19-04-2007 08:56:48 82.3
19-04-2007 08:56:13 75.1
19-04-2007 08:55:25 84.6
18-04-2007 22:05:21 2707.2
18-04-2007 18:11:11 2829.1
17-04-2007 23:12:31 1168.8
17-04-2007 21:03:32 1372.6
16-04-2007 23:26:29 1440.7
16-04-2007 20:16:32 1431.4
16-04-2007 13:52:35 523.7
16-04-2007 08:40:36 357.4
15-04-2007 23:16:21 238.6
15-04-2007 22:23:30 244.2
15-04-2007 21:19:44 245.3

This is two dramatic drops in the space of 4 days. what i am a little surprised at is i was told my speed would not improve for 3 - 5 days yet it improved the next day lasted for a couple of days and has dropped to even lower levels.
The speed test on BT produced the following:

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 135 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 5312 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 84 kbps


So i am on a wopping speed now of 84kbps.
I have had no major events i have not been struck by lightening about the the only thing that happens is my connection drops which is a regular occurance so i would not relate to any disconections. What event would i be looking for that would cause BT to sync me so low because i am getting seriously fed up with this now.
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 913
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

Is it possible to look at your router logs over the past few days. Mine show disconnections and resynch speeds for everytime it happens back to the time I last rebooted my router.
This should show some very low synchs.
If this is the case you are going to have try to isolate the cause (in your property or outside it).
The first thing you need to try is to connect your router directly to the master socket with nothing else connected - remove the lower plate and connect to the socket inside it - this link shows a picture of the socket and what to do to test it.
If you need to leave it connected for a long period and need the phone you can have the phone connected through a filter although it would be better not to while trouble shooting.
Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

I am a bit confused the modem lead has a completely different plug on the end of it that will not fit directly into the BT terminal are you suggesting i cut the cable and wire it in ?
Also where would i find the Router logs you describe...
Many Thanks for taking the trouble to reply
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 913
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

Plug the filter into the socket and then your router cable into the filter.
Which router do you have
Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

I have a Voyager 105 Modem, could this be the problem i have been thinking about getting a wireless router.I did ask on here once before about changing modem but i didnt get much response.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 913
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

I have no idea as to whether it creates a log but if you have a look here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm#anchor9 and enable the hidden menu it may help.
I would definitely recommend a router - if you have a network connection on your PC then the range is enormous (I use a Speedtouch but a Netgear is also recommended) but if you only have a USB connection then the Speedtouch 536 has a USB and a network connector.
If you want a wireless router then the Netgear DG834G is highly recommended unless you want to do a lot of advanced fiddling when the Speedtouch 585 may be better.
Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

Many thanks for your help
HelpingHands-IT
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 30-07-2007

Netgear - Definately

I would recommend Netgear DG834GT as its about their best consumer level device.

The device is pure Simplicity.

Netgear is the only company who provide device enhancements through their firmware upgrades, WPA2 and more.

And Yes before anyone asks I do have an interest as I am a Netgear Powershift Partner and an Accreadited service provider. But hey even SKY and AOL are now rebranding Netgear DG834G boxes for their own wireless services due to their reliability and simplicity.

Jeff
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 913
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

Jeff,
As an expert why would you recommend the DG834GT model over the DG834G v3 which I thought was the latest model.
N/A

This is now getting ridiculous !

108mbps super g on the GT, regular wireless g 54mbps on the DG834g v.3. I think.
Dodgydog
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-09-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

just my 2 pence worth , dont go for the dg834g if you have a large house as the wireless range is not that good (personal expereance) Wink
N/A

This is now getting ridiculous !

To add my small change too... Wink

I use the Netgear DG834GT and have found that the wireless range is excellent, although test have shown that it doesn't perform as well as some of its competitors through solid walls.

Problems with range can of course be caused by a multitude of things, including neighbours using the same wireless channel, the presence of cordless phones, wireless AV senders as well as anything else which uses the public 2.4Ghz frequency.
Additionally the construction of a home can have drastic effects too, with walls offering barriers, wiring loops in walls, pipework etc all having a detrimental effect.

With all wireless routers, placement can have a huge effect on coverage, and useability should be a consideration too.

I've had experience of a number of different brands of routers and access points, and I always tend to wish I'd got a Netgear - the range is very intuitive to set up and configure.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,626
Thanks: 611
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

From working here it appears that Netgear are certainly one of the easiest to set up.
As previously advised the way your house is constructed can have a drastic effect on the range of wireless, I recall one customer could only use it in the same room due to living in a very thick stone cottage...kind of defeats the object of wireless really.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
N/A

ur problems are near identical to mine

i have the same problem every week my speed drops to around 126mps im on a 2mb connection but sometimes its drops to 500mb and this lasts a couple of days then back up to 1.5mb im getting really irate about having to complain seems now every other week by phone and email and im told its wihin bt guidelines
Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

This is now getting ridiculous !

I know how you feel i cant get above 130kb and thats only a spitting distance away from the old dial up connections....