cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speeds

Jeni
Grafter

Speeds

I am new to ADSL connections but i seem to be getting really bad connection speeds. Web pages are taking ages to load in, downloads are really slow, i was getting 12kbs for a driver download from nvidia, i turned computer off for 30 mins or so and tried again and got 28kbs. It varies alot and has been doing so for a while. The problem i am getting has only really been noticeable since they did the upgrade or whatever it was last week.

I have read about altering MTU settings and stuff but i dont have a clue on that lol, any1 give me a bit of help on it to see if that fixes my problem?
12 REPLIES
N/A

RE: Speeds

> I am new to ADSL connections but i seem to be getting really bad connection speeds. Web pages are taking ages to load in, downloads are really slow, i was getting 12kbs for a driver download from nvidia, i turned computer off for 30 mins or so and tried again and got 28kbs. It varies alot and has been doing so for a while. The problem i am getting has only really been noticeable since they did the upgrade or whatever it was last week.
>
> I have read about altering MTU settings and stuff but i dont have a clue on that lol, any1 give me a bit of help on it to see if that fixes my problem?

I also had very slowwww down speeds yesterday, and i've noticed all this as happened since they did the plusdsl change over. Funny thing is the upload speed was fine i was gettin 30kb/s ish. I notice all this when i was downloading big files, the speed became very unstable jumping between 30 to 50 and today i've had some outage nothing going nowhere up or down had to log off and log back on.
And i've done the MTU change.
I phoned +net they said there was no generic fault, all they said is keep an eye on it, so thats all we can do sit here and suck it.
N/A

im on plusnet asdl using their router and things are fine for me. have you tried the normal checks