cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed query

N/A

Speed query

I'm on the Premier package and should be getting up to 8000kbps.
All the checks show that my exchange (Rhiwderin) is ok and that I should be able to connect at 4500kbps or higher.
However I never get above about 1900kbps (and that is rare) and my 'Connection Settings' tell me that my current BB speed is 2000kbps.
Is this what is limiting my speed?
If so, how can I get it increased? :?:
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,213
Thanks: 909
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Speed query

The fact that a check in the database gives 4500kbps is somewhat irrelevant as its only a guess.
MaxDSL works on what your line will actually stand for a given noise margin.
What is the synchronisation speed as given by your router.
N/A

Speed query

How do I find that?
I'm using a Linksys WAG345G if that makes any difference.
The only speeds it shows are:
Downstream rate 2272kbps
Upstream rate 288kbps
Zathras
Grafter
Posts: 295
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speed query

What gateway you on ?
http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/

Downstream rate 2272kbps
Upstream rate 288kbps

that is not maxdsl speed.
N/A

Speed query

Gateway is 195.166.128.72
Zathras
Grafter
Posts: 295
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speed query

Whats the name of the gateway? youre upload speed is same as mine...fixed rate 2mb, did you request upto8mb?
N/A

Speed query

currently connected to the "Telehouse East, Juniper 4" gateway. This gateway is sometimes known as pte-ag2.

I have never asked for 8Mb, but received an e-mail some time last year saying that my exchange was enabled and that I would see a speed increase soon.
Zathras
Grafter
Posts: 295
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speed query

N/A

Speed query

I have just officially asked for an 'Up to 8Mb' upgrade.
Let's see what happens...

Thanks for the questions/pointers. Smiley
N/A

Speed query

A quick update:
It would appear that the request for 'upto 8Mb' has been successful. My router is now showing a download speed of 4736mbps and upload of 448kbps. Not 8meg yet, but going in the right direction.

On the down side though, when I do a speedtest using Speedtest.net my ping has gone up to 300+ so my speeds are as shown below:


Just checked My Account->Connection Settings->Hi-speed Broadband and it is telling me that my current broadband speed is 2000Kbps!

Now what do I do? Cry