cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed problems

joss
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 10-07-2007

Speed problems

Traceroute Results: View Traceroute
Traceroute Time (24 Hour): 22:42 to 22:45
Traceroute Duration: 3 minutes
Traceroute Packet Size: 64 bytes
Packetloss in Traceroute?: Yes
Exchange: Woolston
Problem: Permanently Slow Data Transfer (Everything is slow)
Duration of Problem: More than 1 week
Minimum Speed Achieved On PlusNet Speedtest: 1 kbps
Maximum Speed Achieved On PlusNet Speedtest: 951 kbps
Average Speed Achieved On PlusNet Speedtest: 476 kbps
Account: ADSL Home (Self Install) - 1mb (50:1)
IP Block Size: Single (default)
Ticket Number: None
Additional Information: The minimum speed test was zero, however I believe the form will not let me put this in
8 REPLIES
N/A

Speed problems

joss
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 10-07-2007

Speed problems

I have reviewed the threads, but I'm not sure its a plusnet pipe problem as I used the BT seed test account which I believe looks at BT internal networking, 2 out of the 3 tests did were below BT's recommended speed (which I thinks takes into account the 50:1 ratio).
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Speed problems

I wouldn't say I have a speed problem, internet pages are lightening fast, but I don't do any downloading to know if this would be slow. However, every time I check the Speed Test in the connection settings of late, I have got:-
09-10-2004 19:42:04 0
07-10-2004 22:23:07 0
07-10-2004 22:20:22 0
30-09-2004 23:41:34 863.8
30-09-2004 20:55:12 1417.8
29-09-2004 19:30:51 0
29-09-2004 19:29:22 0
29-09-2004 19:28:46 0
28-09-2004 15:46:15 970.9
27-09-2004 21:08:24 976.9

I have just done it again, five minutes after the last time and got -
Your current speed is:


972.70kbps

So what's occurring? Why is it 0 sometimes :?
N/A

Speed problems

According to your traceroute your are on a 155m pipe. Its the second line down.
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Speed problems

Quote
According to your traceroute your are on a 155m pipe. Its the second line down.


Thanks for the reply, but I'm afraid that means nothing to me! Is there a problem with my set up, if so, how do I fix it? :?
N/A

Speed problems

The sticky at the top has now got the full details.
flicker
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Speed problems

Thanks Smiley

Still as clear as mud, but I know its not a problem with my set up now anyway!
N/A

Speed problems

The way adsl works is that all the connections go to BT they then forward them to plusnet who then send on the everything to the right places. BT system can't handle the load at peak times and if you are on the 155meg pipe it just does not get to plus net at all. Plus net have paid for a big enough link at there end.

BT have plus net over a barrel because there is no one else to go to . There are only 2 backbones in the uk, BT and NTL. NTL's cable network does not cover the entire country and they nearly went bust building it. NTL sells it own boardband over the cable network but use BT on phones lines.

BT have no real reason to do anythnig about it.