cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solwise SAR110

N/A

Solwise SAR110

Recieved the new router yesterday, and all seems well. No more of the annoying LCP Retransmission Time Outs either. Good job PlusNet, I doubt many other ISP's would have gone so far as to send out replacement routers.

However, I have a few questions about the SAR110.

I noticed that the old 3COM 612 came back as Invisible, at least on all major ports, if someone port scanned my IP. However, out of curiosity I used the same port probe test on GRC on the SAR110, and was surprised to see that the http, telnet and ftp ports came back as open and that people outside my LAN can access the config for the router (if they know the pass, that is). I thought this would only be the case if I had IGMP turned on, which I dont?

Should I be worried about this, and if so, is there a way to close these ports?

I reckon Im probably worrying too much about it, but Im not an expert on routers, so... Smiley

Thanks,

Colin
6 REPLIES
N/A

RE: Solwise SAR110

> Recieved the new router yesterday, and all seems well. No more of the annoying LCP Retransmission Time Outs either. Good job PlusNet, I doubt many other ISP's would have gone so far as to send out replacement routers.
>
> However, I have a few questions about the SAR110.
>
> I noticed that the old 3COM 612 came back as Invisible, at least on all major ports, if someone port scanned my IP. However, out of curiosity I used the same port probe test on GRC on the SAR110, and was surprised to see that the http, telnet and ftp ports came back as open and that people outside my LAN can access the config for the router (if they know the pass, that is). I thought this would only be the case if I had IGMP turned on, which I dont?
>
> Should I be worried about this, and if so, is there a way to close these ports?
>
> I reckon Im probably worrying too much about it, but Im not an expert on routers, so... Smiley
>
>
> Thanks,
>
> Colin