cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds fro 8mb connection

N/A

I don't seem to get any decent speed. I have noticed it slowing signficantly in the last 3/4 weeks (and also down more often than it used to be - it wasn't working this morning) but having just run a speed test from your site it is no worse that it used to be but at less than 1 mb its rather a pathetic rate.

Help!

PS I am not technically minded so don't undertsand all the terminology used (I have read the other comments on 8 mb speed) so don;t ask me about upstream / downstream / line speeds etc
7 REPLIES
Boriss
Dabbler

We have just gone over to 'NOT' 8MB service. We have been in contact with PN about our abysmal speeds. According to them, this is due to the contention ratio at our local exchange(we are just under 1km from it). This is BS of course, as we have friends around the corner (less than 100m away) who get 6MB plus with AOL. And some others a little further away, about 250m, who get up 12MB with Be(LLU). It is peculiar how the contention ratio only applies to PN customers. :shock:
Community Veteran
Fixes: 6

Yes thats right, it really is the contention ratio.... which only applies to PN customers. All the other people in the area are actually connected to thin-air powered by the space-time continuum - Thats why they all get normal speeds.

Rather strange isn't it how PN always blame BT for issues which exist only for PN customers. It's like all the exchanges always being red - They're simply trying to fob us off with excuses knowing full well that some customers will actually beleive it - and a few will because they do not know any better.

PN have put a lot of thought into how they play this war on the customer.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
kreynolds
Grafter